Some Words, by Aaron


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 31st 2013
Published: January 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey y'all, Aaron here, hosting my cousin Karl on his way to Canadian enlightnenment. Good chit chats, chess, go, some beer drinking and whatnot. I just hope for their sake those monks aren't afraid of corporal punishment. Ah, I remember it well, like it was yesterday...

Election night 2004. Southern China. Price of tea $0.25. Bush v. Kerry as yet undetermined. Delivery of my interactive lecture on spoken English progressing nicely that evening, prepared material inevitably completed with over a half hour remaining of the 2.5 hour class and a room full of eager learners gazing back at me. So, what do you think of the election, I says. No reply. Don't you guys have an opinion? Finally one particularly stoic Sino student, clearly groomed for the military, chimes in, 'We are Communist, so we don't care about such things.' Damn, I thought, if my good cous Karl were present he would set these commie reds straight.

Freedom is what the modern homo sapien craves, and if there is one Hess who knows that it is Karl, ever the seeker of truth, enlightenment, understanding, and a veritable menagerie of bigger picture stuff. I doff my cap to you, Sir! May the monks be kind to one so full of questions.

Advertisement



31st January 2013

Krazy Karl
Hi Aaron, sounds like you know my grandson pretty well. Enjoyed your comments.

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb