Who Are the People in Your Neighborhood?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 7th 2013
Published: January 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I remember stepping onto the train and looking for a seat. I knew I had to be strategic about this decision. After all, I'd be sitting next to this person for the next few hours. I made a quick scan of the back of heads trying to determine which one held the brain of the person I'd like to talk to. I tend to gravitate toward the out of place, seemingly lonely, foreign or extremely over or under dressed person. They have the most interesting stories.



To my left I noticed a young black man starring blankly out of the widow, wearing a black hoodie pulled over his head and hiding most of his face. The way he sat curled in his seat it was if he was almost hiding from something.



“Do you mind if I sit here?” I asked him.



He looked surprised but then nodded that it was ok.



He kept looking out the window and nervously tapping his foot. I didn't want the thoughts to go through my mind, but I admit, they did. Was this kid in trouble? Was he running from something? Was picking this seat a good idea?



"Are you ok?” I asked as the train started to lunge forward.



He turned to face me revealing ears with two giant diamonds pierced through and layers of gold chains around his neck. “Yes, ma'am, I'm ok. I is just a little nervous is all. Its my first time on a train.”



“Let me tell ya, its no sweat. This is surely safer than flying, right?”



“I ain't never been on no airplane ma'am,” he replied.



“Well, I've done a little of everything and traveling by train is a piece of cake. You'll be fine,” I reassured.



“I ain't so much worried about the ride. I'm worried because I don't have a ticket.”



I looked up and could see the conductor making his way through each car checking each passenger's ticket. Now I knew what the kid was hiding from.



“Man, my car broke down and I needed to get back to Chicago and my friends just dumped me off at the train station. They said I could buy a ticket on the train and it only cost $11 so that's all I have with me.” He opened his wallet and showed me the money like he wanted me to know he was telling the truth.



The conductor was just feet away from us at that point and the poor kid started sweating bullets and tapping his foot incessantly.



The conductor approached and I handed him my ticket to be punched. Then he asked the kid next to me for his ticket. The kid stammered his way through the story he had just given me about being dumped at the train station with eleven dollars to buy a ticket.



“Well, your friends got part of the story right,” the conductor told him. “You can buy a ticket on board but there's an extra $20 charge for that. If you don't have the $20 then I'm gonna have to ask you to get off at the next stop.”



The kid looked sunk. The next stop was two hours from Chicago, in the middle of corn fields and it was snowing. The foot tapping increased, the sweat was beading across his forehead.



I pilfered through my wallet and pulled out thirty-one dollars and handed it to the conductor. “I'll pay his ticket and service charge,” I told him. The conductor looked confused but took the money and gave the kid his ticket.



The kid turned and starred at me completely stunned. “Ma'am, I don't know what to say. That ain't never happened to me before. I would have been stranded. You must be some kinda angel.”



“Believe me,” I said, “I'm no angel. I'm just in the right place at the right time with exactly $31 in my wallet.”



He looked a little more relaxed now and told me his name was Jerome and he was headed back home.



“So you live in Chicago! I love Chicago! What part do you live in?” I asked.



He rolls his eyes at my naivety. “I live in the south side. No disrespect ma'am but you ain't never been to the south side.”



“You're probably right Jerome. Unless its near Michigan Avenue or the airport, then I'm sure I haven't.”



“Michigan Avenue? Ha! Michigan Avenue ain't Chicago. No ma'am, you wouldn't last a minute in my hood,” he added.



I leaned in closer. “Tell me Jerome, what is it like? I mean, I see on the news everyday about the gangs, the drive-by shootings and drugs. Are you in a gang?”



He stared at me in silence for a moment then said, “Yeah, I'm in a gang. Once you join...you're in. You can't get out. Just try getting out.”



My first conversation with a real gangster. I felt like I hit the jackpot.



“Tell me everything Jerome. I want to know what its really like,” I said.



So he did. He started at the beginning and told me everything. He told me about his mother raising six kids on her own because his dad was in prison for drugs his whole childhood. He told me about the gang he joined in high school and now was too afraid to leave. Teary eyed he told me about his younger brother being caught in the crossfire of two opposing gangs and how he was the one to find him shot through the head in the alley behind a convenience store. He told me how he had to tell his mother about her son being killed. He told me about the two years he served in prison for selling drugs. He told me he was just twenty years old and he was tired of his life.



“I never want to be in prison again,” he said. “That's when I knew I had to make some big changes or I'd end up dead like my brother or spend my life in prison like my dad.”



“Your mother's buried one child already Jerome, don't put her through that again. What kind of options do you have?” I asked.



He explained that while he was in prison he was able to take a few classes through the local community college.



“I just want a regular life,” he told me. “Maybe wear a suit and tie to work, that would be nice. Make enough money to take care of my mama. Who knows. Maybe have a couple kids one day. But for now, I'm stuck in a war zone.”



WAR ZONE. Those two words caught my attention. I live in a quiet wooded neighborhood in a little yellow house with a white picket fence. How could there be a “war zone” only two hours from my house? War zones were in Mexico or the Congo, not in Illinois.



We were approaching Jerome's stop.



“I wish I had some words of wisdom or great advice for you Jerome, but I don't. Just stay focused, finish school and never be afraid to ask for help. Who knows, maybe one day you can be a mentor for kids who are going through what you are. You are in a unique position to really relate and get through to these kids dealing with gangs. Maybe if you used your experiences to save someone else from going through what you have, you'd find some peace in all of this.”



“That's a good idea,” he said. “I think I could be a mentor one day. I tell ya, when you first sat next to me I thought why of all the seats on this train did this snooty white lady have to sit next to me.”



He stood up to leave, gave me the Obama fist bump and said, “But you ain't so bad for a white lady.”



I grinned. “And you ain't so bad for a gangster.”



What I've come to realize since meeting Jerome is that there is a war zone only two hours from my home. When I read in the news about about kids being shot at walking home from school and violence between gangs its not a statistic anymore. I see Jerome, a kid trying to make the best with the cards that life dealt him.



Meeting and learning from people in your travels makes the world a smaller place. It puts real faces on the news we watch. It makes us more compassionate, tolerant and understanding. Though only 150 miles separates my life from Jerome's we are from two different worlds, but for an hour, those worlds overlapped.



And I think we both learned a thing or two.

Advertisement



8th January 2013

you are a mentor!
now that's a worthwhile train ride. beautiful story, thanks for sharing. x
8th January 2013

Thanks again for reading TinNie. I always appreciate your sweet comments.
8th January 2013

Great blog for a white lady!
When I was completing my graduate degree in anthropology I conducted an experiment in which I mapped and recorded where passengers would sit when boarding a bus. Passengers would invariably sit as far from eachother as was physically possible. Your behaviour would have totally screwed up my findings!
8th January 2013

I probably would of sat next to YOU on the bus and asked a million questions about what you were doing...
8th January 2013

heart felt
What a heartfelt and enlightening conversation. You truely have a gift for talking "with" people, not too them. Great expression.
8th January 2013

Wow - just WOW!!!
Very poignant writing - I thoroughly enjoyed it!
8th January 2013

Wow! Thanks!
Thanks for the comment. Really appreciated.
8th January 2013

Another "Wow!"
What a very well written, incredible story. I really enjoyed this. You truly do have a gift for being open to seeing people. This reminded me of you asking the woman in Egypt (I think) if you could see her face. Thank you for sharing this.
8th January 2013

Why thank you very much.
I was hoping to hear from you! In all fairness, my gift of gab has backfired on me more than once....I just haven't written about those incidents...guess I could though. :)
8th January 2013

Learning about the world through the art of coversation
Beautiful and touching - it brought tears to my eyes.
9th January 2013

And again, WOW!
I've had some amazing experience in Chicago, but this is tops. And I think both you and Jerome are richer for it.
9th January 2013

What a profoundly beautiful blog...
thanks for sharing and being the kind of person who is willing to cross boundaries. I pray that Jerome found the encouragement he needs to achieve his good goals, like taking care of his mother.
9th January 2013

Beautifully written!
Lovely! You certainly have a gift for communicating with people. Well done!
11th January 2013

And I think I learned a thing or two too!
We Brits get on trains and do precisely what aspiringnomad's degree project found - we avoid other passengers if we can. Your interesting tale proves how much more rewarding it is to sit and talk to someone. I'll try it next time.
13th January 2013

Try it and then report your findings. :)
13th January 2013

How brave..
Yes it seems that you can learn a lot by being a little more outgoing and curious about those around us. As Mike Fossey said, unfortunately the British distancing yourself from people is a well-known trait. I vow to look more carefully at those empty seats!
16th January 2013

As usual ...
A great entry, poignant and beautifully written. And the thing that touch me even more is that it is about the "back home", not some exotic destinations; thanks for sharing the story about your encounter with Jerome. Traveling comes with a certain state of mind & you of all are definitely keeping the same human approach that you are in a dusty street of Cairo or in a train heading home... Keep writing !
17th January 2013

I didn't know what I was getting into when clicking on this blog, but what a gem! The conversation isn't just unexpected, bittersweet and fascinating, it reveals so much about you as a person -- all good. Thanks for sharing.
14th March 2013

thanks for sharing
that was a very inspirational and touching story and i truly hoped that Jerome could get out of the other world he is in. God bless both of u
28th May 2013

thanks
It is a such a nice story :)

Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 40; qc: 141; dbt: 0.1173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb