Rihla#30


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
June 1st 2012
Published: June 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

1. What is something we did this year that you think you will remember for the rest of your life?

Throughout my senior year at UIC College Prep, there are several memorable experiences that I will remember for the rest of my life. I will always remember taking the Capstone course. This course helped me incorporate all of the seven survival skills. With the help of a mentor, I had to conduct my own research and present my project to the class. I also had to write a research paper. I will also remember all of the senior class members leaving their hand print on the doors. In addition, I will always remember prom and all of the excitement.

2.What was the most challenging part of this year for you?

The most challenging part of this year for me was keeping up with my school work while researching and applying to colleges. Unlike my first three years of high school when I only focused on school work, during my senior year, I had to dedicate my time and effort on both school work and college applications. It was difficult for me to maintain a high G.P.A. I had to complete several group projects, study for tests and quizzes, and complete other school work. In addition, I had to focus on researching colleges. When applying to the colleges of my interests, I was required to write several essays and send in documents. Later in the year, I had to apply for the FAFSA and other scholarships. Most of the scholarships required an essay. Senior year was certainly stressful but rewarding.

3.What is something that was hard for you at the start of the year, but is easy now?

At first, using an iPad seemed a bit challenging for me. I was not sure how to mark the text on the iPad or edit videos. However, as the school year progressed, I became much more familiar with using the iPad. Now I have no problem taking notes on the iPad or editing videos for group projects. I can definitely use the iPad to express my creativity.


4.In what area do you feel you made your biggest improvements?

I think I made my biggest improvements in my written and oral communication skills. When I present I feel confident and prepared. Before, I felt nervous and scared. I know I am prepared for college because I feel comfortable giving a presentation in front of a group of people. Also, I feel that my written skills have improved. By enrolling in the English college class, I learned how to produce a well written essay. I express my ideas clearly and effectively in my writing.

5.What advice would you give students who will be in this class next year?

I would advise future world history students to be prepared to expand their horizons. There is so much more going on in the world that we should all be informed about. World history class has really increased my knowledge. This course has taught me that it is important to learn about the past. I enjoyed learning about different communities and cultures that exists in different areas of the world. I am open to new ideas and beliefs. In addition, I would advise future students to be prepared to complete group projects. Team work and collaboration play a major role in this class.

6.What are six adjectives that best describe this school year?
- stressful
-difficult
-busy
-quick
-rewarding
-exciting

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb