Kailua Paradise


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
June 30th 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ilala our favorite KeikiIlala our favorite KeikiIlala our favorite Keiki

She is 5 turning six and super cute, smart and growing too fast!
Aloha everyone! Hope your all having a great summer! Hot and sunny here with a nice breeze, sometimes too much but what can you do without the breeze it would be awful. The days have been lazy for me here in Kailua. However I have been getting up early everyday and hitting the beach for a morning walk. It is so different at 6:00 am before all the family picnics and tourists arrive. At this time in the morning it is just us walkers, runners and a few brave kite boarders out enjoying the sunrise. You see so many different kinds of dogs as well. I must say it is nice to seeing the same smiling faces every morning walking by and just enjoying that moment, nodding our heads at each other with no words really needed just knowing how blessed we are to be there! And though we all have our problems and worries they seem so small at that moment on the beach when you can only marvel at the beauty of the sun rising out of the ocean and the amazing strength of the waves beating the white powdered sand and in that moment this is just enough.
My Beach ChairMy Beach ChairMy Beach Chair

So far even when it is crowded I always have my same place, kind of wierd but I love it like the Beach is always welcoming me.
Magical I say!
Spent some time exploring other parts of the island, always looking for that perfect picnic spot, or Tiki Bar with the best Mai Tais maybe a great lunch wagon where you can have a great lunch for a decent price. I think I found a few gems to share if not some pretty pictures. So enjoy and check back later as you never know what I could get myself into.

Mahalo


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

My view from my seatMy view from my seat
My view from my seat

Need I say more? LOL
6:00 AM6:00 AM
6:00 AM

A morning sunrise in Kailua looking towards Laikai Beach
Kailua BeachKailua Beach
Kailua Beach

Love this beach!
Morning has BrokenMorning has Broken
Morning has Broken

Favorite morning artists I listen to on my Zune during my walk. Cat Stevens Carly Simon Carole King Joni Mitchell
The Entrance to My new Beach House!The Entrance to My new Beach House!
The Entrance to My new Beach House!

LOL I wish! This is just the entrance to a very Balinese style Beach house they are building on this beachfront property. It could be where the president may end up staying because this place is totally amazing and at the price tag for land alone at around $32 million well need I say more!
These trees are Fantastic!These trees are Fantastic!
These trees are Fantastic!

So beautiful when they are all in bloom everywhere!
Makaha BeachMakaha Beach
Makaha Beach

This beach is so nice and calm. This is in another part of the island near the Wainaie Coast.
Auntie Manos Plate Lunch TruckAuntie Manos Plate Lunch Truck
Auntie Manos Plate Lunch Truck

That guy couldn't get it set up fast enough! It served four dishes, Lau Lau, Kaluha Pork, Hamburger Stew and Chicken all with rice and Mac Salad for $6 and on this island that is a deal!
Kaluha PorkKaluha Pork
Kaluha Pork

Yummy! More than enough for the two of us and delicious or Ono in Hawaiian.
Our Favorite Tiki BarOur Favorite Tiki Bar
Our Favorite Tiki Bar

We found this old restaurant in Waikiki name the Waililana. This place was old school been around forever, If walls could talk I bet this all night diner in the heart of Waikiki has seen a lot of famous people! The first time we went there with Ricks parents last year we tried thier all day every day happy hour $3,25 Mai Tais and we were hooked. Since then we have tried them all over this island with price tags up to $10 and so far these are the best. People walk by all day and right under there noses they pass by the best bar on the strip because it looks a little okay a lot dated on the outside but don't let that fool you!.
Yummy!Yummy!
Yummy!

Two is enough though or heartburn city. Sweet but deadly!
Old Chinese Christian ChurchOld Chinese Christian Church
Old Chinese Christian Church

Beautiful building. When you first get here it really is wierd to see so many old buildings in the middle of houses built in the fifties and sixties. It really is unique.
Memorial FlowersMemorial Flowers
Memorial Flowers

Walking on the beach this morning I saw these floating in the tide. In Hawaii often family memebers bring a bunch of flowers to scatter into the ocean to send to their loved ones who have passes. The first time I came across the flowers I was confused as to why and where the flowers could have come from. I have since seen many families together making their offerings. It really is moving to be a witness.
FlowerFlower
Flower

Just pretty


30th June 2010

So just tempt me with that lovely mia tai d
1st July 2010

Gorgeous
I am eating my heart out!! Lucky you two!!
3rd July 2010

enjoy
You guys make such simplicity so unique and fun. I love how you have a mission for drink,food, beach and quaint little places. Lisa
6th July 2010

Lucky U
Hey there, I'm so happy for you to have this time this summer. Alittle jealous too=} I'm stuck in Sothern Utah and not the lake. Couldn't find a house and animal sitter this year. I have done alot of hiking and photos of Rock art here. Check out my facebook to see. Wishing you a great summer. Love ya Kriston

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb