Last Day in Paradise


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
February 13th 2009
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last Hawai'ian SunsetLast Hawai'ian SunsetLast Hawai'ian Sunset

Aloha Hawai'i... for now!
Actually it's not my last day, technically. But it is the last day of fun. Tomorrow is full of taking students to the airport from 5 AM to 6 PM. So... I need to enjoy today!

And I did, for the most part. We went up to the Pali lookout, but spent no more than 5 minutes there because it was so windy. Our next stop was at Kailua Beach, which was also shortened because it was so windy which made the air kind of cold. We also went to the Polynesian Culture Center. The PCC was really nice and beautiful, albeit a bit touristy, but we barely spent anytime there... we had about 1 hour to explore the villages and then went on to the grand luau show at the theater. I would have liked to have seen more of the villages (1 for each of the 7 major Polynesian cultures), but sometimes I think despite people saying they are interested in other cultures, they are really just looking for thrills. That's what the show was; it was good (not as good as Paradise Cove's luau), but just kind of commercialized.

That said, I enjoyed my week here
Kailua BeachKailua BeachKailua Beach

O'ahu, Hawai'i
in Hawai'i. It was a lot of work, but it's not really a bad place to work. I'm sad to leave a little, though I'm also ready to go back home. I'd definitely come back to Hawai'i, though probably not too soon unless I'm here for work again. I think some people are island people, some are rural people, and others are city people. I fall into the latter categories mostly. But who am I to turn down a new location, a new perspective, and a new experience?

So tomorrow I will try to enjoy with what little time I have the laid back environs of Hawaii. I'll sip my coffee as slowly as I can in between airport runs and gaze off my balcony to Diamond Head. I'll stop and pick up some pineapple and macadamia nuts, and maybe try to spend a few minutes with my feet in the sand. And I'll definitely take just a few moments to stop and look around and say ALOOOOOOOO-HA!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Pali Lookout viewPali Lookout view
Pali Lookout view

O'ahu, Hawai'i
Misty mountain topMisty mountain top
Misty mountain top

O'ahu, Hawai'i
Kailua BeachKailua Beach
Kailua Beach

O'ahu, Hawai'i
Palm treesPalm trees
Palm trees

Hawai'i
BirdBird
Bird

Kailua Beach, O'ahu, Hawai'i
One of the many rainbows I saw in Hawai'iOne of the many rainbows I saw in Hawai'i
One of the many rainbows I saw in Hawai'i

Though one of the few I got on camera
Last Hawai'ian sunsetLast Hawai'ian sunset
Last Hawai'ian sunset

Waikiki, Hawai'i


8th April 2009

Aloha!
Love the pictures! You took some great shots. I recently came back from Oahu, and your pictures just make me want to go back!
9th April 2009

I feel your pain I always have having to leave somewhere beautiful behind. If I feel like there's alot of the local that Ive missed and I have little time to cover it all Ill use Audio guides they just seem easier to me you can find them almost anywhere but my favorite site right now is www.allaudioguides.com
10th April 2009

Superb
Hi Liz, It was fantastic going through your blogs. Good narration and lovely photos. Yu seem to have travelled a lot. All the very best and do read my page and share your comments. My travel as of now is only in India. This is a lovely country and you can plan a trip when you find time. http://www.mytb.org/Ramz Bye, Ramz

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb