Thus it Begins


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Laie
June 9th 2013
Published: June 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Year 1


Aloha!

Welcome to our blog. It may not look like much yet, but sit back and enjoy; I promise things are about to get interesting. It the eve of our departure from Hawaii- tomorrow night (most likely dark and stormy) at 11 pm we will board a plane to New Zealand where we will explore glow worm caves, travel the North Island, eat lots of mutton, and sing our little hearts out (we're on a concert choir tour). After a week, we will fly to Australia and repeat the whole thing (minus the glow worms, North Island, and sheep... so, mostly just singing). The end of the tour signals our return to Colorado for a period of approximately 8 weeks, 3 days, 22 hours, 15 minutes and 39 seconds, after which we will leave once more, this time bound for Xi'an, China. We will live there for a year. After that... we don't know. You'll just have to wait and see 😊

Now that that's out of the way (we've already had to explain this about a thousand times), a little bit of background about us. Here's a basic profile:



Jarek:


• 6', 170 lbs. Light brown hair, blue eyes, charming smile.
• Overly self-confident.
• Grew up in Laramie, Wyoming
• Spent a year in high school as an exchange student to Amiens, France. Speaks French.
• Spent one year at BYU-Hawaii and traveled with the concert choir on a tour to Taiwan and Hong Kong
• Political science major, Peacebuilding certificate, Chinese minor.Wants to work in American embassies someday.
• Served a two-year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to southern France, Mandarin Chinese speaking.
• Returned to BYU-H and married the most beautiful girl he's ever met.


Kaylee


• 5'4", 117 lbs. Multicolored hair (usually blonde...), green eyes, drop-dead gorgeous.
• Extremely talented
• Modest (Jarek is writing this)
• Born and raised in Centennial, Colorado
• Spent two summers in Xinjin, China as an exchange student. Speaks Chinese.
• Moved to Hawaii to go to school and study Chinese, became a vocal performance major. Hopes to teach music in China someday.
• Married the love of my life.


Us


• Met at a choir activity on September 29, 2012. Jarek was waiting for an opportunity.
• Got engaged 5 days later on October 3, 2012. Kaylee told me we were getting married. I already knew but didn't know she knew... but we both knew, and when you know, you know.
• Did all sorts of fun things during our two semesters in Hawaii (saw Wicked, went hiking, home for Christmas, musicals, etc.)
• Got married in the Salt Lake City Temple on April 19th, 2013. Best decision ever.
• Honeymoon in Estes Park for a week, back-to-back receptions in Wyoming and Colorado, flew back to Hawaii in preparation for tour
• Are extremely happy


Voilà. We shall perhaps make future entries regarding our most recent adventures in Hawaii, but for now, it's time to go to Church. If you haven't gone yet, you should go too 😊Until we meet again, a few thousand miles from here. Jarek and Kaylee

Advertisement



9th June 2013

The Blog..... :D
Jarek and Kaylee, loved the start of your blog. I'm so glad your lives are finding enrichment and joy. I know Heavenly Father is surely blessing you both, and will continue to bless your lives together. Jarek, you know it goes without saying I love you, you're a good man and I'm glad Kaylee has you in her life. I wish you both much excitement as you begin your adventure to New Zealand and Australia. Keep us up on what's happening. Yours in Heavenly Father's love, David & Terrie.
10th June 2013

hello my sweet grandchildren! I am so happy you are doing a blog! I will follow you because I love you.
10th June 2013

Woo-hoo! Great plans! Great life ahead for you two!
What a great blog!! I'm so happy there's a blog, so we can follow you on your trips and adventures. I knew you two were going to do great things but I didn't know it'd be so soon; I thought you'd be at BYUH for a couple more years. What're ya doin' in China for a year? My guess: Teaching English to have experience and to make bookoodles of money. That was my plan, until recent health problems got in the way (I wanted to teach in South Korea or in the Yanbian Korean Autonomous Prefecture in China). I'm glad the two of your are going to have that experience...IF THAT'S WHAT YOU'RE GOING TO BE DOING IN CHINA BUT WE DON'T KNOW YET!!!!! I'm beside myself with anticipation!!!!! Why didn't you include that part in your blog????? Are you teasing us? Grrr! I'm dying to know! Please let us know. Lee Aloha Jarek and Kaylee! Hi there, you two. Approximately 8 weeks, 3 days, 22 hours, 15 minutes and 39 seconds? Could you be more specific, please? Sincerely, Lee #2 (I'm the Lee who's sitting beside the first Lee, filled with anticipation and almost dead from lack of knowledge)
13th June 2013

awesome performance
You guys were awesome tonight - such a privilege to have the opportunity to hear and enjoy all your lovely voices - hope you enjoy the rest of your journey In New Zealand and Australia! Keep writing your blog, one day your kids will love it!
7th July 2013

Great Blogging Goin' On!!
I love this blog. 3 things: Jarek, you wrote, "After that, I didn’t feel so grouchy about having a full day after a night on a plane." I can't imagine you've EVER been grouchy :0) The caves: WOW!! I listened to a recording of Tim's piece while looking at pictures of the Waitomo Caves, trying to imagine what that experience was like for you two and the Concert Choir. It was moving for me and I wasn't even there :0) The fireside where you both spoke: I would have loved to have been there. I can't imagine those YSA and Youth could have had better, more loving examples of newlyweds than the two of you :0) I love that you had this powerful, profound, incredible experience, trip and opportunity to share the Gospel through performance. Thanks for blogging about it :0) Love, Lee

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb