Humble Pie, The Duke, and Waiamea Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Kaua'i » Hanalei
March 12th 2009
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Unofficial Hands-onUnofficial Hands-onUnofficial Hands-on

The bookstore filled up with people for only those few minutes. She felt better about everything. (Mahalo nui)
So here's a photo of the bookstore in Hanapepe and there was another author there. Her name was Anne Dimock and she wrote a book called "Humble Pie." By gosh, a famous book indeed. It's all about pies and one night she had tiny pies for the customers to sample. (All I could offer were invisible pieces of the ocean.) Anne's also a playwright, originally, so we had a lot to talk about and we made pie and playwright-type jokes in between signing our non-fiction books. When Anne isn't signing books, she's checking out huge outriggers as part of an outrigger team on the island. We both sold out of our books and then got leid by the bookstore owners which means -- fragrant plumera flowers all around our necks. Ed and Cynthia, the bookstore's mellow owners, say the proper way to wear the lei is around both heart and back of heart, I guess so it's not just flowers hanging around your neck like a stagnant relationship.

It's all on Friday nights in Hanapepe -- it's all the sea -- they open up the whole street (there is only one street there) and lots of people check out the
Talk Story BookstoreTalk Story BookstoreTalk Story Bookstore

In front of about the only other bookstore in Kauai besides Borders
art and tasty treats. Go.

Anyway, back with the boys at dive bar, Tahiti Nui on the North Shore, dancing with the mad women there, this one gorgeous girl asked me, "What is the occasion?" It's an honor to get leid on Kauai and everybody wants to know about it. Another mad woman grabbed my neck and said, "You got leid!" I didn't know her.

So me and the guys were driving around and I remembered I had a friend from West Palm Beach who had moved to Hawaii, but I wasn't sure if she'd moved to Kauai. I remembered her name was Judy. I looked her up and she toured me around. We saw gardens, waterfalls, and one day she drove me up to Waiamea Canyon whch was like seeing the Grand Canyon in green. Kauai is truly a place of healing.

A day or so before this, me and the guys tried to take a helicopter ride through the Canyon but there was a delay and the lady at Safari Tours sent us to Dukes -- a really fine bar -- at this bay which I can't pronounce. "Dukes" is named after the "Duke," this
JudyJudyJudy

I'd forgotten I'd had a friend who had moved with her children to Kauai to raise them -- Florida freaked her out, for them.
amazing Hawaiin guy that is credited with starting surfing and I remembered his photograph from when I was a kid surfing in my front yard beach in Florida. I admired him then and I was happy to discover that I admired him now -- he is like the John Wayne of surfdom and Hawaiian Royalty Real Man.

They ordered Jimmy Buffet style Margarittas, and I stayed on the iced tea -- a running joke by now, "I'll bet 'James' is going to order ice tea!" -- like I said, maybe we are amazing individually but together we are dorks. Then I got it in my head to go surfing instead of helicoptering around. I didn't have a bathing suit so I bought one at ABC Market -- a really cool discount market there -- and I bought a towel with dolphins on it that said, "Hawaii," and brought it all back to the bar at Dukes.

The guys were knee deep in Margaritta glasses by now. I didn't know where to change so I dropped trou at the bar to put on my new bathing suit and Kyle started to applaud and sing Happy Birthday so everybody would
A Special PlaceA Special PlaceA Special Place

Judy showed me some of the places known only to those who live there -- sacred places that will remain unnamed here
look. I had to work fast and got the suit on before anybody did.

Then I rented a huge long board from a beautiful girl from Bela Rus and glad I did since we found out that the helicopter tour had been canceled. The net effect was yet more Margarittas for them, more waves for me, except on my fourth wave, man, I got drilled. OK, so it used to be called wiping out but now it's called "drilled." I wiped out in front of this huge long board and it about broke my leg. At least, I didn't scrape the bottom of the reef!

Everybody was too smashed by then to take photos of yours truly surfing, or didn't notice.

No worries.










Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

special placespecial place
special place

special places
The Duke HimselfThe Duke Himself
The Duke Himself

No blog on Hawaii is complete with an homage to the Duke
Ocean from DukesOcean from Dukes
Ocean from Dukes

The Bay I went surfing. (First time in years!)
Across from the BookstoreAcross from the Bookstore
Across from the Bookstore

We took pictures of each other in front of the bookstore.
Waiamea CanyonWaiamea Canyon
Waiamea Canyon

Grand Canyon in Green and Mist
Waiamea CanyonWaiamea Canyon
Waiamea Canyon

Even the Red Dirt is Healing
Waiamea CanyonWaiamea Canyon
Waiamea Canyon

Another View, Opening to the Ocean


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb