The Coolest Airport Ever


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Kona, HI


Additional maps: Untitled

I have traveled to many airports, but so far the Kona International Airport is my favorite. The plane ride from San Francisco to Kona was five hours long, I was tired and I sat with a stranger, though I did get an empty seat in between us and I was right in front of the large middle isle television screen. I watched Two and a Half Men and Valentines Day, which was not as bad as expected, and I listened to music on my mp3 player. Though I also didn't eat anything because food cost money on the plane and I was bummed that I couldn't see outside the window when we landed. However, all of the uncomfortableness of the plane ride evaporated when I stepped out of the plane. I got to walk down the metal staircase from the plane to the ground for the first time-which might not seem like much but I thought it was awesome! I also expereienced my first outside airport. The entire airport was like a cabana with seats outside and a roof overheat to stop any rain or protect you from the sun. The weather was a warm eighty degrees-though nothing compared to Texas where it was one hundred degrees Fahrenheit. There were palm trees scattered throughout the grounds and no matter where you stood you felt the breeze. I also want to note that flying to Hawaii felt more like an international flight than domestic since we filled out agricultural forms on the plane that felt like customs paperwork. Anyway, I jumped on the Alamo rental car shuttle and drove maybe two minutes and passed nothing but black lava rocks in the fields and an occasional palm tree. Never have I seen lava rocks and felt like I was on a volcano than in Kona, Hawaii.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb