10 Day Vipassana Meditation


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island » Hilo
February 2nd 2014
Published: February 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I lived like a monk for 10 days. Actually, the lifestyle was probably more restrictive than that of a monk, in that nearly all the day (10.5 hrs) was scheduled as sitting meditation, and talking was forbidden. Here's the schedule:


• 4 - wakeup bell
• 4:30-6:30 - Meditate
• 6:30-7:15 - Breakfast
• 7:15-8:00 - Leisure
• 8-9 - Group meditation
• 9-11 - Meditation
• 11-11:45 Lunch
• 12-1 - Questions for the teacher, if you have any
• 1-2:30 - Meditate
• 2:30-3:30 - Group Meditation
• 3:30-5:00 - Meditate
• 5-6 - Dinner/Tea
• 6-7 - Group Meditation
• 7-8:15 - Discourse by Goenka
• 8:30-9 - Group Meditation
• 9-9:30 - Questions for the assistant teacher
• 10:00 - Lights out



Even though I knew the schedule going in, it was experientially more demanding than I was anticipating. The first few days were the hardest, as I lacked the stamina for sitting and concentrating so much. I felt like a prisoner at times, as our area to walk around at breaks was pretty small. The whole thing was silent, and you were supposed to turn in any and all potential distractions to the admins before the course started. I kept a journal with me, and wrote some notes
on my experiences and my understanding of the teachings presented. I think this was helpful to the process, and would recommend it.

Developing a proper meditation practice to a high degree is believed by Buddhists to allow a total escape from the cycles of craving and aversion that most of spend a lot of time in. This is the release known variously as Nibanna, Nirvana, the Unconditioned, etc. Whether or not you believe such a pinnacle exists or is reachable (I'm skeptical), this shouldn't deter you from harnessing the benefits of meditation practice, which have a lot of scientific research backing their beneficial effects.

I've decided to include a technical discussion of the course content on my Biohacking blog, so if you are interested, see the post over there.

Hawaii was an amazing location for a course like this. Although I must admit that the location did heighten my awareness of the opportunity cost of living a monastic life while forgoing surfing, sun, beach, and women. And we were largely constrained to be inside for a lot of the day, and even when outside had a very limited area to walk around. If you are going to do a
Vipassana retreat, then Hawaii is a great place to do it. Just make sure you have some time to explore before and/or afterwards!

P.S. - Vipassana Hawaii now accepts bitcoin :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb