In between marathon training and the Georgia Aquarium


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
October 11th 2006
Published: October 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Huge Ocean Voyager theaterHuge Ocean Voyager theaterHuge Ocean Voyager theater

Look at scale between the window view and a person. HUGE.
Fall, in my opinion, is the best season of the year. The official ‘autumn’ date falls on September 23, and Atlanta has been really comfortable for the past couple weeks, allowing people to catch some last summer sun before the temperature drops into freezing point. Leaves start to change color, squirrels continue on collecting acorns for upcoming dormant season and everybody moves in a slower pace. It is a perfect athmosphere for all to enjoy.

Football season has been great for the most part; I adopted the ‘Yellow Jacket’ Georgia Tech as my home-based team to root for. Unfortunately, back in Iowa, the Cyclones seem to struggle this year, having one of the toughest schedules in the nation by challenging nine teams that played championship bowls last year.

My marathon training is doing very well. The Marine Corps Marathon at the end of October is approaching in less than three weeks, and I believe I’m ready for it. I'm in the process of finalizing my travel plan for Washington, D.C.

Since its beginning back in April, the training has changed my life in both good way and bad. I always go to bed at night feeling exhausted, physically
Japanese spider crabJapanese spider crabJapanese spider crab

I think they are edible. Here, crabby crabby crabby ...
and mentally drained out, and during the first two months of my training, I’ve lost at least seven pounds, not that I needed to lose any weights to begin with.

I have developed the Osgood-Schlatter disease that is a bump right under my left kneecap where the concentration of tendon is accumulated and surely it hurts to stretch and to move. Meanwhile, I try my best to avoid junk food, including soda pop, and stick with the Japanese recommended diet program of 23 items per day. Oh, it’s not all bad side effects; on a brighter note, I have more energy throughout the day, I have developed a perfect six packs abs, and I can run for a longer distance than ever, and probably faster than most people for a distance run.

Most people thought that there must’ve been something wrong with my head. A couple weeks prior the marathon, one of my coworkers asked me about the training, and he was wondering on how long my long weekend run would be that week.

Jon: “So how many miles you have to put in this weekend?”
Me: “Oh, this Saturday I need to put in only thirteen
Jellyfish IIJellyfish IIJellyfish II

I decide that I love jellyfish. Well at least just watching them.
miles” (laugh)

Suddenly my long laughing stopped abruptly in sinister. Only thirteen miles, or twenty-two kilometers? That’s more than average of eight miles I usually put into my car mileage driving in one day. Maybe it is nothing compared to the weekend before, which consisted of twenty miles of running down along Lenox Road, through Peachtree street all the way to the 10th street, then around the Piedmont Park outer loop before going back to my apartment in Buckhead. It is equivalent to two Peachtree Road Races plus seven more miles.

That’s a serious runner for you. Welcome to the world of athletes.

Most of my time right after 5:30, you can find me running in different locations: Chastain Park, Piedmont Park, Peachtree Street or the gym. Unfortunately in the perfect weather like today, it is almost too nice to be inside staring at your monitor doing CAD drawings; don’t get me wrong, I love my job, but sometime it’s nice to do something else instead. My job as a landscape architecture is interesting; several weeks ago I witness an implosion at my project site at 615 Peachtree street.

So today I decided to do something
Loggerhead Sea TurtleLoggerhead Sea TurtleLoggerhead Sea Turtle

It looks like Crush the sea turtle. Georgia Explorer.
else than usual, that is visiting the Georgia Aquarium. Opened to the public less than one year ago in November 2005, it proves to be one of the most popular destinations in the South. Mr. Marcus, founder of the Home Depot, donated and raised most of the fund needed to build the ‘world’s largest aquarium’. It is too much to mention on what they have on their collection, but it consists more than 55,000 fish in about 8 million gallon of water (3 million litters), divided into five categories, listed with my favorite species: Georgia Explorer (loggerhead sea turtle - Crush), River Scout (piranha and much Amazon and Mississippi species), Coldwater Quest (beluga whales, African penguins), Ocean Voyager (hammerhead and whale shark), and Tropical Diver (clown anemonefish - Nemo).

It is a good break from a typical day at work; at least I can empty out my thoughts and give away my stress by watching jellyfish moves, whatever it takes.

MARTA roundtrip ticket from Lindberg Center to Peachtree Center…..$3.50
Georgia Aquarium general public admission fee…..$24.00
Bacon cheeseburger lunch plus Mt. Dew at Hard Rock Café Atlanta…..$16.00
Starbucks grande light ice vanilla latte…..$3.83
Having a quality time by myself
Braves game at Turner FieldBraves game at Turner FieldBraves game at Turner Field

Turner Field, July 6, 2006 game.
while others think I’m dying in my bed…..PRICELESS

In the afternoon, nothing is better than a six mile run at Piedmont Park, where many yuppies walking their dogs, and walkers, joggers and bikers share a same path to work out. It is entertaining to watch a terrier tried to catch around squirrels, who always find their way up to the nearest live oak while leaving the dog behind.

Meanwhile, a strong storm is rolling in from the west, bringing a much needed rain to Atlanta. It is just another day in midtown Atlanta.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Georgia Tech bandGeorgia Tech band
Georgia Tech band

Supposedly a winning award band.
615 Peachtree 1615 Peachtree 1
615 Peachtree 1

Now you see it ...
615 Peachtree 2615 Peachtree 2
615 Peachtree 2

Now you don't.
Georgia AquariumGeorgia Aquarium
Georgia Aquarium

A distinctive architectural facade by TVS.
River ScoutRiver Scout
River Scout

Amazon River species.
PiranhasPiranhas
Piranhas

They look so calmly swimming around.
Japanese spider crabJapanese spider crab
Japanese spider crab

A mysterius spider crab.
Sea creaturesSea creatures
Sea creatures

They look pretty chewy.
Beluca whalesBeluca whales
Beluca whales

They are rescued from a Mexico City aquarium tank.
A Shark swimming byA Shark swimming by
A Shark swimming by

At the Ocean Voyager theater.
Ocean Voyager theaterOcean Voyager theater
Ocean Voyager theater

Behind a two-feet thick plastic wall to hold millions gallons of water.
Underwater tunnelUnderwater tunnel
Underwater tunnel

It gets really busy in the summer, so a track is designed to keep people moving. Not for today though.
Tropical DiverTropical Diver
Tropical Diver

Look pretty out of place.
Jellyfish IJellyfish I
Jellyfish I

I love the background. It is so profound and blue.
Jellyfish IIIJellyfish III
Jellyfish III

They are so hyptonizing.
DoriDori
Dori

Isn't that Dori? I found her at the Tropical Diver.
A sea horseA sea horse
A sea horse

Just chillin'
I found Nemo and his dadI found Nemo and his dad
I found Nemo and his dad

Swimming by their anemone home, at Tropical Diver.
Washington, D.C. is nextWashington, D.C. is next
Washington, D.C. is next

Doing some research on Washington, D.C. See you on the next travelblog.


15th February 2007

:)
Looks like we've had some overlaps in our travels. Nice to see some familiar sights on yours! (Brazil is next on my list!)
23rd January 2008

Wheee! Aquariums!
I so want to go to Atlanta to see this huge aquarium you've been to. Also, did you mean Beluga Whale instead of Beluca Whale?
25th October 2010
Japanese spider crab

spider crabs
Are spider crabs sometimes brown with spins on the shell? The ones I saw today on the Chesapeake Bay shore were kind of small about 2 1/2 inches in diameter. No legs or other body parts, just the main shell. Any guess what it is? I think it is a spider crab. Never saw one on our beach before. Thanks.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb