Ex Africa Day 2: With the Diaspora


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
December 15th 2009
Published: December 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

CMH TSACMH TSACMH TSA

Just confiscated suntan lotion and lotion, telling them you have it is a guaranty of confiscation! Argh!
I am in at work today for a half day of wrapping things up, though the phone calls will likely continue right into the flight to Jo'burg. Jennifer is sleeping in and wrapping up the usual program at the house.

Musings


I've heard and read a variety of opinions on how southern Africa will be. Not entirely certain what to expect, but despite the crime rate, despite the disease, despite the wild beasts, the greatest danger on that trip will be the amount of driving I will do. Driving is always dangerous, especially in what has become the familiar roads of Ohio and Virginia. We will have to be vigilant and keep thinking backwards when driving, thanks to British Colonialism (if only the Dutch and Germans could have kept control of Southern Africa). 2,280 kilometers in three countries - South Africa, Swaziland, and Namibia - the remainder will be by bus, train, and airplane. This is the equivalent of driving from New York City to Wichita, Kansas or Paris to Rome. Mountains, deserts, flat lands, we will cover it all. We will convoy at every opportunity and my rental cars will get scrutinized like nobody's business, no way will I
At the SkyClubAt the SkyClubAt the SkyClub

In Atlanta's International Terminal. A little free food, and a few cocktails . . . cheers!
accept a beater like what we got in Greece.

We are flying through Atlanta, hence the title. More later on (from Atlanta most likely).

Terminal E


I thought I had been in every Hartsfield Jackson terminal, but I was missing out. E almost wins first place. Definitely more pleasant than most any other terminal. First flight was uneventful, the biggest issue was turbulence prevented beverage service. We are awaiting our Jo'burg flight. That photo is taken with . . . yes, my new wide angle lens, I estimate it will be my favorite lens for the trip. Yes, Pat's telephoto is great and will get use on the wildlife, but a properly framed landscape on my 10-20mm Sigma cannot be beat. I left my 18-135mm at home which I hope I will not come to regret but when my "carry-on" backpack weighs almost as much as my main bag, you have to draw the line. The tripod was almost jettisoned, but I decided to keep it. Might be a good weapon, you never know. Plus, I am not handing over my camera to anyone, I would rather it be on a conveniently placed pedestal (aka tripod) for a classic snatch-and-run.

Numerous attempts for BusinessFirst upgrade, unsuccessful, such is the penalty for flying for free. If anyone wants some Platinum Medallion Upgrade certificates, please let me know, I have six I am just dying to give away!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb