Mating dragonets.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
March 8th 2013
Published: March 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Trigger FishTrigger FishTrigger Fish

It was hovering over a tire that had a cleaner shrimp in it. It would go in the middle to get cleaned. Also its mate would stay very close...
Friday was going to be a short dive. Probalby just about 2 hrs. High tide was very close to sunset and we need a special permit to be in the park after dark. We tested the 161 strobe early in the morning and decided it was faulty. I started my dive by the bikes where the big jawfish are. There were a couple of pregnant seahorses there yesterday and it was the last know location of the long nose batfish but no luck. I couldn’t find either one. Judy’s triegger fish was still by the tire and its mate was still swimming around. I stopped by and spent some time with it. After a while I discovered that there is a yellow cleanind shrimp inside the tire and the triegger fish like to get in there to get a good scrub. There were duskies with eggs everywhere. But the highlight of the dive is that I saw mating dragonets for first time and got a great “butt shot” and yes it is a “butt shot” and I don’t care!. The image symbolizes that I saw it! It happened so quickly. Next time I hope to be ready. I only saw one
Jawfish with very expressive eyes.Jawfish with very expressive eyes.Jawfish with very expressive eyes.

It would drop its eggs inside the hole and come and wink at me! little sucker!
couple. The male was doing the normal display of the fin that we know about and then bum bum bum…just before my eyes. They ascended up in the watercolumn together side to side. For a couple of seconds and that was it then the took different ways….

I still had a full bottle but it was getting dark fast.



Log 531 No computer. No ankle weights. 120 min 10ft. 7mm bear( It getting tore apart. I would have to replace it soon and rearrange my weight). Same with my 3 mm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Mating dragonets.Mating dragonets.
Mating dragonets.

I've heard about this. I have seen bad shots of if and beautiful shot of it. But this was the first time I actually saw it. pretty awesome!
Juvenile Sea Robin. Juvenile Sea Robin.
Juvenile Sea Robin.

So cute. I couldn't resist. :)
id pleaseid please
id please

I thought it was so cute. Not sure if the yellow one is common…never noticed it before
Strobe testStrobe test
Strobe test

Please notice the ugly shadow on the right….and the strobe fired but so weak! I have to discuss this with Ikelite. It is my most expensive strobe :(
Strobe testStrobe test
Strobe test

Notice no shadow on the right. With strobe working properly. Thanx to SK for backups!! ;)


10th May 2013

I was looking up mating dragonet\'s and I stumbled on to your blog...lol d
12th January 2014

lol
that is cool!!!
25th June 2013

juvenile yellowhead wrasse
https://www.google.com/search?q=yellowhead+wrasse+juvenile&client=firefox-a&hs=8EY&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=Es_JUYvlJZLU8wSS14HwDw&ved=0CC0QsAQ&biw=1013&bih=626
4th August 2013

Thanxx Kevin

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb