Miami, Tropical Queen


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
January 9th 2007
Published: January 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

South Beach ColorsSouth Beach ColorsSouth Beach Colors

Mostly blue and its complementary sandy pink... How relaxing is this?
Well, it's been eight months since we returned from our big trip, so I keenly anticipated a two week jaunt to the east coast; one week in Florida, home of my brother Carl and his family and friends, then another week in New York city for a reunion of my college fraternity (Penn State, Phi Sigma Delta).

Miami is sooo beautiful, tropical, colorful, exotic and sensual. The temperature, in early January, has been in the low 80's (about 28 C). It looks and feels like summer here - outdoor restaurants, beaches full of people, joggers, bike riders, dog walkers... Tourists from all over the world - many Europeans, Brits, Germans, escaping their cold winters. Languages I've never heard before. Of course, the primary language of south Florida seems to be Spanish. There are more Spanish radio stations than English-speaking. It's amazing - the United States is so large that in the northern states people shivering their buns off, but merely two-hours south by airplane one can arrive in luxurious winter warmth! I'll take the warmth.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

In Coral GablesIn Coral Gables
In Coral Gables

This city was laid out somewhat like Venice, and has many lovely canals.
Stephanie, Carlo, and JonahStephanie, Carlo, and Jonah
Stephanie, Carlo, and Jonah

My niece and her beautiful growing family, left the cold of Philly for a week in the Florida warmth.
Here is HowieHere is Howie
Here is Howie

How beautiful is this?
Art Deco ArchitectureArt Deco Architecture
Art Deco Architecture

Hotels in South Beach area of Miami.
Joel and DonnaJoel and Donna
Joel and Donna

And Marley, their huge French poodle, boss of the family, and me, enjoying outdoor dining at Mizner Park.
Billie and AnnieBillie and Annie
Billie and Annie

Most beautiful and creative friends, living in Coconut Grove.
Carl, Anoushka, Halina and TiagoCarl, Anoushka, Halina and Tiago
Carl, Anoushka, Halina and Tiago

That's my brother and his beautiful family. Carl and Anoushka are both teachers.


11th January 2007

Nice blog dad.
Looks like you are having a blast... Don't forget to remember us little people bck home in Cali. Haha. Gadi left for Hawaii yesterday, so it's just me and mom. Have fun...
11th January 2007

Miami
Thank you for this blog with the beautiful pictures. I am glad that you can enjoy the fine summer in Miami together with your brother and his family. Best regards Edi
25th March 2018
Carl, Anoushka, Halina and Tiago

Did Carl Rachelson teach in Harrisburg, PA?
I had an English teacher that taught in Harrisburg, PA, I was in the Class of 89. In this above picture, Mr. Rachelson seems a little young but that may just be good genes. If this is him, please thank him for me. During a trying time of my life while I was a teenager, he gave me encouraging words that I have never forgotten.... He told me, "No matter what happens, I will always be okay." Thank you, because through life I have reminded myself of that fact often. He was a great teacher and if he still teaches, his students are blessed to have a person that actually cares about them and their education.
25th March 2018
Carl, Anoushka, Halina and Tiago

Response about Carl Rach
Yes he is my brother and I will pass along your nice comment to him

Tot: 0.427s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 70; dbt: 0.2612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb