Snook Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Riviera Beach
August 10th 2012
Published: August 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Bored of froggies, blennies, seahorses, batfish, searobins, jawfish, nudis…I was in a mood for something different to shoot. I didn’t make it far. I spotted a school of 30 or so Snook. I waved bye to my buddy and signaled him that I was going to stay with the fish. I heard a dolphin giggling around. I looked up but didn’t see any thing and after a while I heard a splash and a silhouette of a tail swimming away. That made my dive!.

I lay down on the sand observing the path of the snook. They traveled around a specific area in a circle. I position my self in different areas and tried to surprise them. A couple yawned. I guess all fish yawn. Catching the fish by surprise didn’t go to well. I decided to let them get used to me and enjoy the interaction. There was one that kept falling behind and was curious about me. Every now and then it would turn towards me and take a pick. I tried to shoot it but never got close enough. I called him “My friend The Snook”. Viz was about 20 ft and lots of particulates in the
My Friend "The Snook"My Friend "The Snook"My Friend "The Snook"

It is the one down in the bottom. The shy one that you can't really see :)
water column but that didn’t bother me. I was in my zone: me surrounded by gorgeous fish. For a while it was just Me and the fish. I finally got to settle my mind and connect with Nature. I haven’t really enjoyed my bridge dives lately because of the saturation of divers. Without realizing it, a couple of hours went by. Then Steve came back and punched my bubble when I saw him slowly hovering and the school of fish immediately went towards him were like they knew him forever. Here I a am spending the whole dive waiting for the fish to get close and Kovacs shows up and the fish are all around him in two seconds. I really believe that SK hypnotizes the fish.

12ft 149 min 84oF 100cc S 6lLbs in pockets and ankle weights


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb