Navarre, FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Pensacola
June 10th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

New OrleansNew OrleansNew Orleans

At my friend's historic civil war home. I sewed the kiddo's watermelon outfit for our trip.
Yesterday we left Sulphur, Louisiana at 10:57 a.m. and crossed the Mississippi at 1:16 p.m. and continued in to Baton Rouge and finally into New Orleans at 2:40...it was raining lightly and 88 degrees. We stayed at my junior high and high school friend's beautiful historic civil war home in the Garden District. We swam in her pool and toured her other home next door which was the union army headquarters centuries ago, and we hung out w/ her neighbor who is a famous novelist.

Lots of movie stars live in her neighborhood and the homes were magnificent and amazing w/ original carpets, moulding, stenciled wall paper and art.

We went out to pizza and then to a 3D movie at Louisiana's oldest theater.

The next day, today--- the New Orleans tourism folks took us out/treated us to world famous Brennan's Restaurant in the French Quarter, for a four course breakfast. It was amazing but extremely overpriced where entrees were $30-40 each and appetizers were about $20. My turtle soup was excellent and so was my entree and the desserts like crepes and bananas foster were wonderful but way too expensive. It was a wonderful experience but I was glad I was not paying as the prices were inflated.

We said goodbye to my high school friend and left New Orleans at 12:51 p.m. and crossed into Mississippi at 1:38 and then Alabama at at 2:42. We finally got to Florida at 4:01 and to our dear friend's house in Navarre, FL at 4:55 p.m. It was so great to see them after a few years. We did a fabulous BBQ in the backyard and then went out for ice cream with all the kids.

The next few days while I am here I'm just relaxing and not covering stories for my column or radio show so these are my first days off in two weeks since we left CA. It feels great. No driving for a few days---woo hoo!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Louisiana's Oldest TheaterLouisiana's Oldest Theater
Louisiana's Oldest Theater

Going to a 3D flick.
My friend's civil war mansionMy friend's civil war mansion
My friend's civil war mansion

Headquarters for the union army.
This is breakfast!!This is breakfast!!
This is breakfast!!

See the prices.
Making our dessertMaking our dessert
Making our dessert

Brennan's in the French Quarter
Being silly in FloridaBeing silly in Florida
Being silly in Florida

Christie and kiddo being goofy.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb