Greetings from Miami


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
October 9th 2009
Published: October 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As most of you know, I am not a morning person. So why did I book myself on an 11 am flight from NY to Miami out of Newark? Honestly, I don't know. But I do know that I got myself out of bed at 3 am to head into the city to catch the NJ transit train to the airport. Since it was a 11 am flight, I wanted to be at the airport by 7:30. Well, since the transit gods like me, I got there at 5:45. Hung out at the airport for a while (note to my sister, there's a Jamba Juice in the Continental Concourse). Flight down was packed, but not too bumpy, although there was apparently one person on board who dislikes flying as much as me, since she prayed to Jesus on both take-off and landing.

It was 53 degrees when I left the apartment this morning, so I was wearing long sleeves and my wool jacket. Well, it's 85 degrees in Miami. And humid. I had booked a room at the Holidy Inn Express (free shuttle, free breakfast, and this internet connection is free), and stood outside waiting for the shuttle for over a half hour before going back inside and calling the hotel from the courtesy phone. They got there pretty quick after that, and I was happy to get into the air conditioning. There's an IHOP right next door to the hotel, so I just came back from having dinner there. I had breakfast for dinner (2 orders of stuffed french toast, eggs and hash browns).

It's always amazing to me how NY really is the city that never sleeps. The subways were fairly crowded at 3:30 in the morning, Penn Station was bustling and the train to the airport was packed. It was a little sad to see the people sleeping on the floor of Penn Station, got to admit.

And I have to say that I'm impressed with the train and airport personnel who could be that cheerful at that (to me) ridiculous hour. But once again, going through security just proved to me that people don't listen, no matter how many times the TSA agents repeat themselves.

Oh, note to my kindle buddies.... I've already finished 2 of the short story collections I took with me. My October total is now up by 700 pages!

I won't be posting tomorrow (I'll be at the airport all day, since check out here is 11 am and my flight to Lima is 11 pm), and I don't think I'll get to computer on Saturday, so hopefully, I'll update on Sunday.

Advertisement



9th October 2009

Off to a good start
Are you excited yet? Have fun!
9th October 2009

On your way! :-)
Well, glad to see that your trip got underway without major incident! The weather variation thing is a real pain - my parents have had to deal with that on several of their trips, taking everything they'd need for rainforest climates through near-arctic. Gack! Anyway, good luck on the flight to Lima - hope it's smooth and uneventful! :-)

Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0949s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb