# 3 Retiring Teacher preparing to teach in China (First visit to Taizhou Teachers College)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
January 3rd 2006
Published: January 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Having visited China in July of 2005, I am giving thought to some of the challenges that will face me as I prepare the journey. No book I have read about China, nor any conversations I have had with Chinese Nationals in Miami prepared me for that first visit. Perception will never equate to the reality surrounding a foreigner on first arrival. I was not attached to any tour group, but made a personal visit and so was given the opportunity of a very personal experience. There was no set schedule, only the one agreed to by Mr. Lee and myself. I arrived at night, via NW Airlines, in Shanghai. Mr. Lee met me with a van and its driver, but I was exhausted from the trip, Miami-Detroit-Tokyo-Shanghai. Mr. Lee and I have had many previous Email exchanges and I was looking forward to meeting him in person. Entrance into Shanghai Airport was painless. With a quick glance at the passport, the security waived me through, and there was no check of my suitcase. The greeting was hearty, and we were quickly on our way on a highway going north from Shanghai to Taizhou, Jiangsu Province, a trip that was going to take about 3 hrs., Mr. Lee told me. Well, the trip took at least 6hrs. not because of passenger-car traffic, there was none, but because of truck traffic. I have never seen so many trucks in all shapes and sizes, and they were all bumper to bumper on a three- and sometimes four-lane highway. It was my first experience with China's economic-wonder. I have driven cars in many countries of the world, including Istambul and Cairo, but I would find it impossible for any western driver to negotiate this traffic with a rental-car. We made it to the College early the next morning and the College had a wonderfully functional apartment ready for me and I quickly went to sleep. It was a
furnished, large room, with very large bed, complete "western" toilet and shower, small washer and dryer, large TV and Computer with open access to the internet, and a large window facing the city.
Mr. Lee was ready exactly on time, and I found that punctuality is something treasured if not expected by everyone I met throughout my 3 weeks stay. Breakfast was in an upstairs
restaurant, much like one of our fast-food places and breakfast was a noodle soup, much like a Won Ton soup. I have never been much a breakfast person, and I quickly found that I would prefer to start my day with an early lunch of stir-fry vegetables with chicken/pork and some fried rice to complement the delicious flavors. Over the next 3 weeks, everyone of my meals became a new adventure. We visited many dozens of restaurants and it was quickly obvious, that the guest is king. The Chinese people treasure their privacy in a restaurant, since there is so little privacy in their daily activities. For that reason, I was always taken to one of the many private-restaurant-rooms located above the common room of the restaurant. It allowed me to meet so many of the wonderful friends of Mr. Lee, all of whom were eager to practice their English with me, and we meet them in a more quiet setting. The guest has the seat to the right of the host, green tea is served immediately, platters of food are brought into the room, and the guest is always encouraged to help himself first as each plate is placed in front of him on a "Lazy Susan". Most of the meals were served in as many as 10-15 different courses. There were many complements on my use of Chop-Sticks, which was the only talble tool available in most restaurants. Soup is usually served last, and a porcelan-spoon is made available. A few times a was offered a western-style fork, but I felt very comfortable with the Ch.Sticks and always refused the use of a fork to the delight of the other guests around the table. A sweet desert is rarely served, but I always took great delight in the sweet, fresh fruit.






Advertisement



4th January 2006

You seem to lead a very interesting life, Hans.
10th January 2006

4th period German class student, 1/10/06
I have been reading your online travel journal,I am so happy that you gave the class this site. This definantly is a way to keep up with your adventure and is very interesting. I will miss you very much, and I am secretly dreading the new German teacher that will replace you next year. Missing you already. This is a great journal!!!
17th October 2007

U. of Maryland-Munich
Did you attend the University of Maryland in Munich, Germany in 1965?
24th January 2008

Being different is not easy. The road to tolerance and acceptance is long.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb