Back to Miami Springs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami Springs
February 7th 2011
Published: February 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

MoreMoreMore

Boot Key Sunsets
Since my last blog we’ve had quite warm weather. I’m not complaining, mind you, especially to those of you who are again enduring snowy weather. I’m just saying that it has become warmer and more humid, and a little less breezy at times. We ride our bikes to the grocery every 2 or 3 days, and are soaking wet by the time we get there and back. Riding to eat supper at one of the restaurants isn’t so bad, as by then the breeze has usually picked back up, the sun is much lower, and the temps are a bit cooler.

We’ve had 2 softball games since we last spoke. Sara, Trevor, and Kerry all played in spite of aches and pains. Kerry has had a pinched nerve or something in his back, but always manages to feel better at game time. He doesn’t run as fast as he used to, but who does. There have been good turnouts for the games lately, once they even had 26 people show up to play. You’d think with that many people in the field there wouldn’t be many hits, but that wasn’t the case. I do think, though, that a good time
Dragon BoatDragon BoatDragon Boat

at Boot Key
was had by all, which is really the purpose for playing anyway.

Sara and Trevor took their boat out this morning for a quick sail, but it was too rough and they came back in. They did enjoy the change of scenery. Now they are at an informal gathering discussing traveling to the Bahamas.

I’m heading back to Miami Springs tomorrow for a few days. Since my brother, Herb, and his wife, Pam, are still recuperating from their motorcycle accident, I’m heading up to help out. Pam has to have some surgery on her leg on Thursday and they need me to handle the car parking situation, since the parking garage is a block or more from the hospital. Pam is still mostly in a wheel chair and Herb is on crutches, but able to put some weight on his leg now. Anyway, they can’t make that walk comfortably so I’m going to help out since I can hobble better than they can.

I’ll be staying with my mother and will probably head back to Boot Key on Saturday. I’ll miss the Tuesday and Thursday morning softball games. I hope they can play without their lead heckler.
3 Boats Down3 Boats Down3 Boats Down

This girl was doing headstands on the bow pulpit


More later.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sara running to firstSara running to first
Sara running to first

Sunday softball (Kerry was playing third)
Kerry at batKerry at bat
Kerry at bat

You can't see that he has a pinch runner
SunsetSunset
Sunset

I can't help taking pictures of the sunsets, they're just so beautiful


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb