Manatee Touching, Kite Flying and general good fun


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Melbourne
September 10th 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The following day, the 16th of June, 2009 we headed up to Melbourne, Florida. Its about 2 and a half hours from Tampa.

Its beautiful weather and we listen to Red Hot Chilli Peppers and other road tripping music on the way up.

Good times. We get to Melbourne at about 1pm and then I get to meet Alyson's family. Her family is really cool really friendly straight up and I feel pretty much at home after a couple of hours. We grab a snack then head up to the beach in Melbourne.

We grab some kites along the way from the chemist as well as some lollies. At the beach after our swim we have a lie down in the sun and then grab the kites. Alyson's one is killing it after like 10 minutes - but i somehow managed to end up with the jipped kite. After half an hour I get it successfully in the air at its maximum length. However am sabotaged by a certain someone when they ask me to do tricks with the kite I’m flying. Sabotage and outrage.

The next day we go for a canoe ride with Alyson’s bro drew. Its really nice canoeing, well me and Alyson take turns whilst Drew goes the whole way. We see some turtles and I get to touch a Manatee and its baby. So cute!

Afterwards we head back to Sarasota. Alyson has dance practice whilst I go for a run. I get stuck in a storm but manage to get into the Ringling via a back entrance and see the beautiful flowers and garden after the rain.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The kite was flying for meThe kite was flying for me
The kite was flying for me

where did it all go wrong?


23rd August 2012
The Dam duo do Melbourne, Florida

Melbourne and Palm Bay!
I love this area of Florida! It is way less conjested then Miami and Coco beach and a lot more normal (in my opinion!). Melbourne is great but so is Palm Bay- there is a ton to do in the surrounding areas (like Orlando) and the beaches are great too! I come to the region quite often and Palm Bay is where I like to stay! The Palm Bay Hotel (www.palmbay-hotel.com) is nice and affordable and close to so much in town!

Tot: 0.591s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.3737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb