Today is the Day!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Melbourne
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My World Tour


Well today is the day! I am finally leaving for my 9 week adventure this afternoon. Over the next 24 hours, I will be seeing many, many airports.

Packing was a real treat, as it usually is. I am the worst overpacker. And I'm really bad about trying to rationalize what I will and will not need. If I'm going to a cold climate, I still bring a bathing suit, just in case. You never know where you might come across a hot tub. Hot climate? Bring a sweatshirt in case the air conditioning is brutal. But I'm carrying two larger suitcases that will be checked in, and my bookbag and a purse for carry-on. My friend Lauren mentioned a great idea to me, that I had never thought of, but I felt would be good to share with all of my dear readers. When in doubt about the weight of your luggage...bring it to Publix and weigh it on the grocery store scale! Highly impressive and should save you those pesky overage fees.

Next update will probably come from the Charles DeGaulle Airport in Paris, where I have a 7.5 hour layover. I will find an internet cafe. Perhaps I can find an internet cafe with crepes.


Advertisement



6th June 2007

I miss you already! Have a safe flight(s). Can't wait to hear all about your trip. Gainesville isn't the same without my S+
6th June 2007

Perhaps you can find a Frenchie that has showered in the past week. Those damn frog-eating surrender monkeys. Remind them while you're there and if it wasn't for the US, they'd all be speaking Kraut right now.
7th June 2007

bon voage
well you are off for 9 weeks and it will take that long for us to get the house into a livable condition. The closets are beginning and then the drapes. So by the time you hit home once again it will hopefully be ready for you. Take care and enjoy it all. We love you
7th June 2007

I'm in the Charles DeGaulle airport right now, and I have to say, the French are definitely the worst, followed closely by the rest of the EU. They apparently also don't believe in air conditioning either. I'm dying.

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb