Warm and Wonderful


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Lake City
January 19th 2013
Published: January 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Sunny and warm



I haven’t commented on the weather lately, have to correct that.

I drove from Ringgold, GA to Lake City, FL today. No matter how long mapquest says it will be to get from hither to yon it’s always longer. I travel the speed limit, make few stops and still it takes me hours longer. Or maybe it just seems that way. I drove 7 hours today or at least on the road that long.



When I first went outside this morning I could see my breath. The temp was 38 but the sky was clear and the sun was bright. I packed up, hooked up the car and was off by 10:30. Today was the first day I drove with sunglasses on this trip. It was an outstanding day.

With each stop the temp increased and by the time we got to southern GA I was walking Oscar in shirt sleeves. The trees changed from scrubby pines to tall, graceful pines and the occasional palm tree, first I’ve seen so far. The terrain was hilly and gradually changed to a flatter grazing farm land area. Groves of pecan trees, herds of cattle, GREEN pastures, and the amazing Southern Oak dripping with Spanish moss. Somewhere on this trip I have to photograph these magnificent trees showing how I feel about them.



I got a text (I was at the rest stop) from a friend I am going to meet here who just bought a new class A motor home, the bus type. She has been looking for a couple of years and was at the Tampa RV show and they presented an offer she couldn’t pass up. I’m excited for her and we’ll get to help her nest in her new camper.



We arrived at the Lake City Campground about 5:40 and settled into our spot. A nice walk for both of us and then I decided to have a cocktail while we sat outside and watched the stars come out.. The temp was cooling off quickly but it was incredibly pleasant out. The campground is small and quiet, just what the Dr ordered. I am exhausted again. I really need a day to just sit, no sight seeing, driving or thinking. Don’t know if I can manage to do that. I want to see it all!



My new tv was beautiful last night but there is an issue reprogramming it to a new campground. Can’t figure out how to do it and the directions are online and not very complete. So tomorrow I will talk to someone on line that can walk me through the process. Can’t believe I’m so bad at this..



So far the towing has been easy and the camper and car are terrific. I have traveled over 1200 miles and realize I need to do this over a longer period of time. On Monday I am going to be in a campground for almost 2 weeks. A few days to sit in my chair then another couple of days to rearrange the stuff in the camper, then I can go sight seeing or playing golf or something fun.

Off to bed…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb