Picture Potpouri


Advertisement
Published: March 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

(Park of the Palms)


I told you that we’d tried kumquats, and now I’m hearing that people really do eat them! Rose ate a couple, as did Earl, but they like sour things; the rest of us couldn’t even choke down one bite. They kind of suck your throat inside out, they’re so sour. (and who wants an inside-out throat?) They’re almost painful! Anyway, at that same pop/patio, Dave brought boiled peanuts (“bowled” peanuts if you’re from Tennessee!) You can’t drive very far in any direction without seeing a sign beside the road advertising boiled peanuts. We’ve all talked about them, but no one had tried them; the locals, whether in Tennessee, or Alabama or Florida, seem to think they rate up there with chocolate, but I haven’t been tempted. Dave bought some, and they look as disgusting as they sound…they boil them in water, in the shell, and they’re not even salted. They’re black, and taste like mushy peanuts. They’re just gross. GROSS. Not painful like the kumquats, but nasty. I guess if I want my peanuts boiled, I want it to be in oil! Or something equally healthy! We don’t usually have treats during pop, and this reinforced that routine!

While we were at the Palms, Bob worked with Wilmer to drywall one half of a duplex that had been remodeled. Wanda, Lola and I cleaned windows at the Manor, inside and out, steam cleaned the carpets in the hallways, cleaned the church, cleaned motel rooms, and helped paint the rehab building that the other men had sheet rocked and textured. Nancy and Marilyn worked in the dessert kitchen at the dining room. Rose worked on patient paperwork in the nurses’ office of the Manor.

I have some pictures that haven't fit into other blogs (I know, there haven't been that many other blogs!) so I'm going to stick them in here, under the category of Potpouri! Enjoy~


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

See how deep deep black he is?See how deep deep black he is?
See how deep deep black he is?

There are several species that are black, but not this totally. Wait till the next picture....
This butterfly is sky blue.This butterfly is sky blue.
This butterfly is sky blue.

A very pretty little guy...
Just that!Just that!
Just that!

We didn't go inside~~didn't even see a way to, but I thought ya'll would want to see this! St Augustine
Looking across the moatLooking across the moat
Looking across the moat

at Fort Augustine. They also had alligators in the moats, so drop in company wasn't common!
Lots of people rinse off in the outdoorLots of people rinse off in the outdoor
Lots of people rinse off in the outdoor

showers at the beaches, but I've never seen anyone go to this extent! Bob & I didn't go to the Fountain of Youth in St. Augustine (I have no desire to be younger!) but instead we snuck off to the beach!
Waldo Flea MarketWaldo Flea Market
Waldo Flea Market

This man is frying shelled peanuts in a turkey fryer, and then he salted them, and I tell you what, they were some kind of good! No, I didn't buy any~~I'm not stupid~~I know what they feed elephants, and I know how fast I could consume a quart of his! Man they were good.


25th March 2009

Peanuts,,,Boiled Peanuts
I have to tell you that we had lots of boiled peanuts while visiting Tim in Georgia, Florida and South Carolina. Some were really good and some were terrible. But ours were never mushy. The vendors were all over the place though. I think you should at least try some that someone from the south think are good. You need to take some kind of risks in your life!!!
26th March 2009

I never want to think about boiled peanuts again!
28th March 2009

Hi, Patti!
Nope. I'm not trying them again. I tried boiled peanuts once, and I'm not doing it again! If they were meant to be eaten, they would be boiled in oil and dipped in chocolate. Not trying them again....no sir...not me.... :)
28th March 2009

Hi, Sar!
If you get the opportunity, you should try them! They're nasty, but everyone should try them!

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb