Valentine's Day Eve in Boot Key


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Marathon
February 13th 2011
Published: February 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Another beautyAnother beautyAnother beauty

sun setting behind the bridge
I’m happy to be back at beautiful Boot Key again. It’s windy and last night was a little chilly, but today is sunny and winds are supposed to calm down.

Pam’s surgery went well on Thursday, though it turned out to be a very long day. We had to be at the hospital at 6 am, then wait. She was scheduled to go into surgery at 10:30, which turned out to be 11:00. The surgery was supposed to take up to 45 minutes, but took an hour and a half. We didn’t leave the hospital until close to 6 pm. They had to scrape the ends of the bone that wasn’t fusing, then inserted a bridge of cadaver bone for the bone to grow over. She was pretty sore from all the activity in there, but should be feeling better in a few days. They say she’ll be weight-bearing in a week.

I managed to get Mom’s tax return done, even though I had to hunt for some of the information in her vast filing system (plastic bags full of junk mail.) She was mad at me because she didn’t get a big refund, but I think she finally
Sara at batSara at batSara at bat

Tuesday's game
understood that you don’t get a refund if you don’t pay anything in.

Back at Boot Key yesterday afternoon the wind calmed enough for me to get back to the boat without getting soaked. The wind was so strong at times that there were whitecaps and rows of foam from the winds. Last night the winds roared and I’m sure there were gusts up to gale force. We did have a pretty sunset, though, in shades of purple and pink.

I missed a softball game on Thursday and they missed me, too. I’ve heard it was way too quiet without their designated heckler. I’m posting a few pics from Tuesday’s game. They’ll play this afternoon, I think, but now I’m about to go over to the art show in the park and wander around some.

More later.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sara safe at homeSara safe at home
Sara safe at home

sr league rules - there are two home plates
a Trevor hita Trevor hit
a Trevor hit

you can see the ball if you look close
Pinks and purplesPinks and purples
Pinks and purples

a sunset of another color


Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb