Sunday dive at Lauderdale by the sea


Advertisement
Published: April 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Deb sent an email out at 7 am on sunday pointing out that the ocean was like glass. What is that mean? Flat? or like a mirror? Really? hmmm …that is very unusual. (Don't ask me what I was doing on the computer at 7 am on a Sun!) Then she sent me the link to the webcam and that was it. All the original plans totally changed. We did 3 hr and a half searching for macro creatures. My first sight was a searobin. I have never seen one there. Good start. My favorite secretary bennies were everywhere. I love it when they make the crazy look. Deb showed me an orangy one and Steve a yellow one. I go crazy for those. I tried to get a shot of one of the 7 gorgonian shrimp but my neck got twisted, my hand hurt but after a lot of pain got my first shot of one of those. Thanx SK for that. It was my last chance to see the Aplysias and I crossed fingers they were around. We searched and searched and searched and nothing. We were going low on air and turned around to head back and Steve stopped and brought a fussy algae sargassum like and pointed at a tiny nudi. And then he brought another one. What better than a guy that brings you flowers? A guy that brings you nudis!!! The second one our beloved Aplysia Parvula and the first one Anne said is called a Stylochelus striatus. Im going to try to find them again on WEd late afternoon if anyone wants to join...Did I mention that we never made it to the second reef where we were heading to? lol Deb said next time she is going to bling fold me so I don't get distracted on the way there. I had an awesome dive. Thanx to my awesome buddies that showed me stuff cuz I didn't find anything on my own haha


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb