Pilgrimage to Dogfish Head


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Delaware
September 27th 2009
Published: September 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've wanted to tour the Dogfish Head (DFH) brewery since sampling their 120-minute IPA for the first time earlier this year. When I saw an advertisement for their annual 5k/10k Dogfish Dash, I jumped at the chance to register, not only because I knew I could finish well, but also to have some time to tour the brewery and bring home some of their brews I could not find north.

After making the 3.5-hour drive to Rehoboth Beach on Saturday afternoon, I checked in my hotel and promptly headed over to the Dogfish Head Brewings and Eats on Rehoboth Ave. Over the course of two hours, with dinner (of course), I drank pints of their Punkin Ale, Chicory Stout, Black & Tan (Chicory Stout / 90-minute IPA), and Pangaea.

Fast forward to Sunday morning, it was raining fairly steadily as I had expected, but fortunately the outside temperature was in the 60's. By the time I arrived at Dogfish Head Brewery in Milton, the rain had ceased and approximately 1,000 of us were prepared to run the Dogfish Dash - majority of runners registered for the 5k, I was in the minority to run the 10k. I'm certain we had one objective in mind - finish the race... so we could enjoy the beer tasting post-race. The course itself was mostly flat with a hill here and there, but the volunteers were great!

Post-race, the skies opened up again and I was soaked soon enough. I enjoyed watching runners attempt keg sprints to win all sorts of prizes. Me? I was catching up on the breakfast I never had earlier in the morning AND waiting in the long line for a choice of beer - 60-minute IPA, Indian Brown Ale, and Lawnmower Light. I opted for the Lawnmower because I had never tried it before. The shorter line was for Festina Peche, a peachy beer that reminds me of champagne. No thanks. Later, I found myself in another line... a shorter one... for a taste of Midas Touch, a 9% alc with barley, honey, white muscat grapes, and saffron (!).

I finally went on an abbreviated brewery tour (abbreviated meaning no additional tasting) where the guide enthusiastically provided us the origin of the Dogfish Head brand as well as the process for making the brew. One of the best brewery tours I've been on... well, okay, this
CasksCasksCasks

Largest wood casks made since the Prohibition
was only my second after touring Heineken a few years back. Yet, in no time at all, I was back on the road home... with 4-pack purchases of Midas Touch and Punkin Ale. Might have to return when they sell Chicory Stout later this fall.

At the restaurant and at the race, I found myself exchanging stories with perfect strangers concerning the different DFH brews we've tried, our favorites, our dislikes (rare), as well as where we could find the most affordable DFH for sale - Atlantic Liquors, by the way.

As far as the run is concerned, I'm happy with how I finished, but I couldn't tell you my official time if you asked. I have no idea... yet.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

PurchasesPurchases
Purchases

Punkin Ale and Midas Touch


28th September 2009

Way to go!
Hey Manny, Great to see you combining two of your interests...running and beer!!!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb