hot times in delaware


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Delaware » Wilmington
October 12th 2012
Published: October 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: turtles 9 secs
2: monkey 36 secs
uracauracauraca

Urracas are these crazy gonzo looking birds that were everywhere
back.

well, it's been about two months since i left for costa rica. i'm back in delaware now content, and cold.

time to chronicle the last part of my trip leading up to right now.

I love surfing. I'm already researching boards, and if anyone reading this thing knows anything about surfboards, let me know. After two weeks, I was able to catch and ride 5-7 foot waves, steering and even doing a few 'tricks.' While out in the water, the leatherback sea turtles casually come up for air all around you in between sets. On the other terrifying side of the spectrum, I'm pretty sure I saw the trash compactor monster from Star Wars out there too. It was creepy, and not like the other (poisonous) sea snakes out there.

My Spanish classes were so-so, but I think the teacher didn't have any experience teaching higher levels and I'll prolly continue making the same mistakes for a while. Masculine/Feminine etc. Now I have to figure out a way to stay practiced in Spanish while I start a new language. Right now I'm thinking... Portuguese.

Oh!! I remember something awesome. On my last night in town,
monkey monkey monkey

taken from the stairs of my hotel
my classmate Namita and I were grabbing some coffee when Costa Rica's version of Paul Revere came through. He bustled down the (only) street exclaiming "Las Tortugeritas estan saliendo del huevos"... or "The baby turtles are hatching." We went down to the turtle hatchery and found adorable baby turtles waiting for release into the ocean. I'm including a picture and video. You can only use the red lights down there, but you can make it out.

I should've updated this more while I was down there, but I was too busy. I'll just give you kids a photodump and add any important things I remember.

What's next? I'm going back to ECS on 10/22, but in the new capacity as an Art Buyer! I'm really excited for the opportunity and to see all my coworkers.

I'm not sure if I'm supposed to say something profound and lifechanging about the trip or not. I had a great time, met some great people and the experience is priceless. I completed my objective of rounding out my Spanish while exploring and living in a foreign country. It's obvious to me that Costa Rica is still a developing country. It does some things really well, and others will leave your head scratching. The reaction you get when you say you're American is very interesting. More often than not, they'll make a pop-culture reference, and then offer some sort of oddly constructed criticism or view that shows a high level of ignorance for foreign affairs. I'm not speaking just of Costa Ricans, but of the people from every nation I met. I stand by my long-held belief that people are people and that languages, creeds and ideas impact, but don't define them. Everywhere you go you'll meet bad apples and kindred souls.

The two things I missed the most. Everything Bagels and Warm Showers. So if anyone wants to bring those two things with me to Costa Rica... I'm down.

I would absolutely go back, so if anyone wants to take a trip, let me know.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

montezuma stripmontezuma strip
montezuma strip

the strip. tiny town.
tortugitos tortugitos
tortugitos

baby turtles


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb