Somerville Fluff Festival


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Connecticut
October 3rd 2006
Published: October 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Middletown, CT

I am writing from Wesleyan University, here for a few days because they don’t need me on the film shoot today or for the next few days.

On Friday I found out who I will be playing in the film; I am Larry Gura, a left-handed pitcher for the Kansas City Royals and ex-Yankee. I will only be in the film briefly, I think, there is a scene where I am pitching and the Yankees head coach Billy Martin (played by John Turtorro) begins heckling me on the mound. The premise for the scene is that there is bad blood between Martin and Gura stemming from events two years earlier, when Gura had been released by Martin and the Yankees. I don’t say a word in the brief scene, I just stare at Billy.

I spent the weekend in Somerville, Massachusettes, just outside of Boston. On Saturday we attended the Fluff Festival, commemorating the 89th Anniversary of the invention of Fluff right here in Somerville. It was an exciting festival complete with Fluff science experiments, a Fluff desert
contest, dance performances by the Fluffettes and other featured musicians. A panel of Fluff experts were used to
Fluff MusicFluff MusicFluff Music

Music Performance at Fluff Festival
judge the Fluff deserts, including ‘Fluff Boy,’ a ten year old boy in a superhero suit with a big F on his shirt.
Apparently FluffBoy, with two deserts left to taste, got sick from too much Fluff and threw up. This was kept secret, of course, so as to not disrupt the fun and festivities of the Fluff Festival.
The Mayor of Somerville was on hand to present the awards for the Fluff Science Fair. The first place finish was “The Adhesive Properties of Fluff”. The third place finish (not really a science project) was ‘Fluff Tuna Salad,’ a man who had set up a booth handing out his concoction of fluff, tuna salad, hot sauce, mustard, on a cracker. It was not tasty.

The event culminated with a tug-o-war match with a tub filled with Fluff awaiting the losing team (the team pulled into the fluff).

The only real food I have ever had that included fluff is Fluffernutters, which is peanut butter (crunchy) and fluff, between two graham crackers. The Fluff festival brought up fond memories for me, it makes me think of my dad's parents. Every time I visit my grandparents in Raleigh, NC, my grandmother is sure to make me fluffernutter sandwiches to take on my ride home. It is something I look forward to........mmmmmmm.........

Check out the pictures!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Fluff Dessert ContestFluff Dessert Contest
Fluff Dessert Contest

The winning dessert was 'Whoopie Pies.' Third place was 'Fluff Tyrami-soup'.
Fluff HairdosFluff Hairdos
Fluff Hairdos

Many Fluffgoers took it upon themselves to explore new uses for Fluff
Fluff Tug-o-warFluff Tug-o-war
Fluff Tug-o-war

Preparing the Fluff tub for tug-o-war


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb