Roxborough State Park


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Roxborough State Park


Tuesday –June 18 - The plan was to check out Chatfield Lake State Park and Roxborough State Park. They looked like a good place to take a walk. From Denver I went south on I-25 to 470 West and took the Chatfield Lake State Park exit but drove by the lake just taking a look at the lake from the road and proceeded to Roxborough State Park because I wanted to check out the rock formations.

When I got to the park there was a sign saying it was $7.00 for a day pass but I went to the visitor center and bought a Colorado State Parks Pass for $70. I don’t know if I will use that much in entry fees but if not I don’t mind contributing a bit extra to the Colorado State Parks.

When I got to the visitor center the parking lot was a good 200 yard climb up the hill to the visitor center. A 200 yard walk uphill at 6200 ft elevation is quite a different beast than one at 330 ft.

After I got my parks pass I walked back down the hill to my truck and stuck the sticker on the bottom right side of my windshield. They seemed to be a real stickler about wanting either a Parks Pass or a temporary permit displayed on every vehicle at all times. As I put the permit on my windshield it started raining heavily. Then it started raining and hailing. So I ate the lunch I had brought with me and waited it out. After quite a bit it quit raining and I hiked back up the hill to the visitor’s center to use the restroom and get my breath back after climbing back up the hill. Then I hiked up to the Fountain Valley Overlook which was about ¼ mile from the visitor center stopping about every 100 yards to get my breath back. When I got to the overlook it was quite a view and well worth the hike to get to it.

The trail continued on to the Lyons Overlook which was a half mile hike down the Fountain Valley Trail and puts you in the middle of the Fountain Formation. I’m sure it was quite nice and while the half mile hike down wouldn’t have been too bad the half a mile back up would have been pretty tuff at this altitude for me. I still haven’t gotten used to the thinner air here.

I enjoyed the view for about 40 minutes and then I walked back down the hill to my truck and eased back to Denver.

I made a mental note to bring an umbrella or start wearing a wide brimmed hat on these walks. The air temperature isn’t that bad most of the time but they have a seriously hot sun burning down. I wear a lightweight long sleeve shirt because my arms start burning from the sun when I am out in it a bit. I will probably feel a bit ridiculous carrying an umbrella but I guess rather look foolish than be foolish. As much as the winds blow here though it may be difficult to use an umbrella most of the time.

On the drive back to Denver I thought about my plans for my next two trips.

On the first trip I will go out of Denver on Hwy 285 to Fairplay, and then South to Antero Junction where it links up with Hwy 24 to Buena Vista( from Antero Junction it is just a few miles East on Hwy 24 to Antero Reservoir free camping if I wish to use it at this point).

Out of Buena Vista I will take Hwy 24 North to the turnoff for Hwy 82 going to Aspen and Glenwood Springs. From Glenwood Springs I will take I-70 West to Rifle where I will go North on Hwy 13 to 325 which will take me to Rifle Falls State Park. There is supposed to be some impressive waterfalls at Rifle Falls State Park. After visiting Rifle falls State Park I will head East again on I-70 back to Denver.

http://www.parks.state.co.us/parks/riflefalls/Pages/RifleFallsHome.aspx

On the trip after that the plan is to go to The 110th Cowboy Roundup days and Fourth of July Celebration in Steamboat Springs. http://www.steamboat-chamber.com/signature-events/july-4th-celebration

So that’s the plan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.545s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 75; dbt: 0.2208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb