Day 31 - Rocky Mountains, Colorado


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Rocky Mountains
October 12th 2011
Published: October 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Time to hire another car, since I hadn't figured out how to get on a day tour up to the Rocky Mountains. Hiring a car would make it easier, and probably at around the same price too.

So just before 8am, I headed down to Enterprise. I hired myself a Ford Focus. Pretty slick car. I had time adjusting to the traffic conditions here; this was Denver and it was a major city. From what I experienced with the traffic here, I had a few more near misses than I normally would.

I first made it to Boulder, at the foothills of the mountains. I was getting very upset with my GPS at this point, but eventually I managed to have it lead me to Estes Park, the town just before the entrance to the Rocky Mountains National Park.

It was a scenic drive through. A $20 pass would allow me to enter the park for seven days; however, I would only be entering today.

I drove through a little bit of ice up to Many Parks Curve - yes, there was plenty of snow up on this mountain. I didn't stay at this part for long - I had other places to see.

I drove to Moraine Park, Sprague Lake, where I saw plenty of fish in a river, and most spectacular of all places, Bear Lake. This part of the park was gorgeous. I circumnavigated it and took pictures, saw chipmunks and walked along snowy paths. I was enjoying myself. I hope I get to see more and more snow.

I had pizza for lunch. Quite a large one it was, so I saved half of it for dinner. I had a look around the shops in Estes Park. They had some really interesting travel and hiking equipment here - I bought myself a new, and warmer pair of thermals, since I lost my other one in Salt Lake City somehow.

Back in Denver, I watched The Terminal at my hostel. Pretty great movie.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb