Green Stickers and Articulate Speech


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Grandmama's move started *really* happening last week! Although there's still a lot of work to be done at the old house, I'm feeling very proud of the fact that so much was accomplished in one week.

Here's a recap of each day:

Sunday -

My plane arrived in Colorado at about 8:30 and I got to Grandmama's house at about 11:30AM, and saw Uncle John and Uncle David right away working in the garage. About ten minutes later, I had learned about the colored sticker system (I think that, for all of us involved last week, the colors green, orange, and yellow have an entirely new meaning), and was putting glass ornaments into bubble wrap. It wasn't long until the D Family arrived (I know that sounds funny... I just don't want to use full last names in this public journal), and for about five minutes in the garage, we had our fix of, as Uncle David put it, "social pleasantries." For the rest of the day, we worked pretty intensely, and got a lot done in the next seven hours or so. Andrea and I definitely handled more china that day than either of us probably
Behold the family room...Behold the family room...Behold the family room...

Max, Uncle John, and Grandmama deciding what to sort through next...
ever have in our whole lives! Then, we all took a break and were treated by Grandmama to a very nice Mexican dinner. After that, Max, Uncle David, Uncle John and I worked in the garage and in the house for a few more hours. We made sure all of the bookshelves were empty, and all of Grandmama's bedroom and office furniture was cleared off for the movers the next morning. Sleep felt absolutely amazing that night, in Andrea's bed, which she very generously let me use.

Monday -

Andrea and I woke up at around 7, and got to Grandmama's (old) house at about 8. There, we found Uncle David, Uncle John, and Grandmama, all in the garage, working on some sorting things into the color groups. The movers got there at about 9:30 and they moved furniture (most importantly, the piano!) for six hours straight. Andrea and I unpacked the china right away and put it in the cabinets at Grandmama's new house. The whole week is kind of a blur, so it's hard to remember what all moving-related stuff we did that day. Whatever all happened, Monday was an extremely productive day, like Sunday had
Behold the LIVING ROOM!Behold the LIVING ROOM!Behold the LIVING ROOM!

Yay... it's ready for the movers.
been. Uncle David left at around 6, and then we all went to the D-family's house for pizza, which, again, was provided by Grandmama... and by Pizza Hut. 😊 Several of us played Apples to Apples afterward, which reminded me of the many nights that the German camp counselors played Apples to Apples... what a great game. I think that game is almost always enjoyed more at night, for some reason, when everybody's a little bit tired and beginning to feel slap-happy (from the tiredness.)

Tuesday -

If somebody could help me remember anything at all from this day, I'll add it. I'd greatly appreciate it. Grandmama suggested I write down stuff on the plane ride back, and I guess I should have, because I cannot remember at all what happened that day. All I remember is a very vague blur of images of boxes, brightly-colored stickers, and talk of articulation. Here's a brief explanation of the whole articulation thing: Andrea and I decided that we were going to try and not speak too articulately, because it gave us the feeling of condescension and self-righteousness, which we did not enjoy. That was how the whole joke of articulation (which we tirelessly kept mentioning during the remainder of the week) was born. I do clearly remember Uncle John, Grandmama, and I going to a fun Chinese restaurant in the evening.

Wednesday -

Several of us went swimming! Grandmama's pool had been beckoning several of us for the first half of the week, so it was great to finally make some time for it, after packing up some dishes and stuff from Grandmama's old house, and a bunch of clothes. Neil, Dan, Andrea, Grandmama and I were in the pool, and Uncle John was on one of the lounge chairs. It was great on that hot day, swimming and then going in the hot tub and the sauna. However, the swimming adventure turned into a quite unpleasant, dangerous adventure for Grandmama. If anyone reading this does not know the killer swimming suit incident, please ask her about it. I don't want to tell it, because it's much better to hear it from her point of view. Oh, and at lunch (before swimming), Uncle John, Andrea, Grandmama and I had leftover Chinese food, with big utensils, which turned out to result in a pretty comical photo, which you'll see in this journal entry.
That night, Double-A Diner made burritos with chicken, black rice (which I thought was pretty cool) and cheese.

Thursday -

Aunt Kathleen called Land's End (the swimming suit company) and got the company to send Grandmama five swimming suits to try on, and exchange the killer swimming suit for. Then, after a day of working on moving-related stuff, Andrea and I went swimming for awhile, and went with Uncle John and Grandmama to pick out her new washer and dryer at Sears. We went to Taco Bell after that. 😊 Andrea gave me her Kid's Meal token - two copies of Playstation Mini-Golf... I'm going to make my brother try it out soon.

Friday -

Not much was done in the moving-related department... Andrea and I packed some boxes, but then we enjoyed the afternoon at Long Pond with some of Dan's class, who threw a party there. Andrea and I went canoing, and rescued a young mourning dove who was about to drown in the middle of the lake.
That evening, Double-A Diner used Grandmama's new kitchen and her food to cook the first meal that we all had together there! I cooked salmon, and Andrea made salad. We also had lime chips that Grandmama had gone out and bought, and for dessert, vanilla ice cream with strawberries. Then, Andrea and I went to the pool and swam until it closed at 10 pm.

Saturday -

Well... not to toot my own horn, but I was happy with the stuff that got done that morning. At about 8, Andrea and I went to the old house, and started packing boxes of dishes and stuff. Andrea left to do some Father's Day shopping with Aunt Kathleen, Max, and Dan, and during that time, I packed up eight boxes with dishes, silverware, and a bunch of other kitchen stuff. I can't remember what all else was packed, but for some reason, that morning in particular felt very productive. Uncle John had to move those eight heavy boxes to his car and take them to the new house, so that was also what helped it feel so productive.
Then, I went to the D-Family's house, and Double-A Diner made homemade Personal Pizzas (we took a poll to see what toppings each person wanted.) Toppings included onions, black olives, calamata olives, artichoke hearts,
Unpacking china...Unpacking china...Unpacking china...

Andrea unpacks the next plate (or maybe it's a cup) while Grandmama, relieved, sinks into her recliner hardly believing she now lives at the new house.
and sun-dried tomatoes. We had a quite... "special"... time trying to put the pizzas in the oven without them falling apart, but all turned out well. We had root beer floats, too.
Aunt Kathleen, Andrea, and I went for a night swim after that. Luckily, the five or six teenagers who were there were not in our personal bubbles the whole time, and we had a chance to sit in the hot tub for awhile.

Sunday -

After a very nice Father's Day breakfast, which Uncle John, Grandmama, and I greatly enjoyed too, I went to Estes Park with Uncle Alan, Rose, Andrea, Dan, and Max. Andrea and Dan were getting dropped off at Camp _____ (call me paranoid but I don't want to publish the name of the camp that my little cousins are currently at.) It was a nice drive, and I had interesting conversations with Rose and Uncle Alan. We went to this really interesting Native American store, which had drawers and drawers of beautiful jewelry, which was fun to look at. I oohed and awed at the lapis and the amethyst jewelry... amethyst is purple and lapis is indigo (my two favorite colors.) Max
Sophie and HoganSophie and HoganSophie and Hogan

(and Andrea's hand :)
and Dan were given arrowheads by some of the store owners; Andrea was given a pretty blue necklace; and I was given a poster of one of the ladies who worked there, dressed in a full traditional Native American outfit and holding a baby. After dropping Dan and Andrea off at the camp (which looks like fun), Max, Rose, Uncle Alan and I looked inside the Church on the Rock, which is very pretty.

Monday -

Because of Laura's donation, Rose's arranging, Aunt Kathleen's idea, Grandmama driving me to the farm, and Midwest Airlines, I now have a complimentary ticket to go back to Fort Collins next month to help some more with moving-related things. I'm looking forward to it... more swimming will be a great bonus. 😊


Stuff that was accomplished that I haven't yet mentioned included Uncle John and Grandmama getting patio furniture; phone service switched to the new location; cable and internet installed; stair glide installed by Roger; Dan painting the shed; and magazine subscriptions canceled. It's hard for me to separate all of the days of last week in my mind, so I apologize... I really have no idea when everything that
Who needs forks?  Spatulas do the job too.Who needs forks?  Spatulas do the job too.Who needs forks? Spatulas do the job too.

We eat our Chinese food in sophistication.
I just mentioned in this paragraph happened.

Okay... here are the pictures. I now will say goodnight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Our first swim at the new place...Our first swim at the new place...
Our first swim at the new place...

right after the killer swimming suit attack
Double-A DinerDouble-A Diner
Double-A Diner

working hard on those chicken burritos
Part of the new living room/dining areaPart of the new living room/dining area
Part of the new living room/dining area

Aunt Kathleen found some cool dining chairs.


20th June 2007

Gives me an idea!
Wow, after reading of the efficiency, willingness, low cost (a few meals out), I suddenly have the idea of MOVING! What a crew you guys make. This is a great blog, Alia.
20th June 2007

haha
Noooo, don't move yet... Wait until we're done with this one first. Maybe give it three months. ;) Thanks for your comment - I really appreciate it. I think the week was well-spent.
20th June 2007

Hard work and fun, too
I am pleased to have been a part of Alia's Colorado adventure. Unlike her, I did not fly there but drove 600 miles each way across Kansas and Eastern Colorado. If anybody did not understand the giant kitchen utensil incident, it happened because noboby had thought yet to pack and move any ordinary tableware. Perhaps we didn't realize people would be eating at the new place that soon. So, lacking spoons or forks, we ate our Chinese food with what was available. It tasted just as good that way.
20th June 2007

Chinese food and utensils
I have to wonder if the Chinese place didn't send along chopsticks? Well, I know not everyone is adept at using those! Just wondered. But yes, we humans have a great capacity to adapt tools at hand to tasks at hand. Think: plastic fork is available; no comb is available; hair is a mess. Another example: no spoon or fork . . . but cardboard food containers can be torn and folded just so, to make little shovels to use to insert food in mouth . . . . anyway, it gave you all something to laugh about and record for posterity on this blog site.
21st June 2007

re: Hard work and fun, too
Oh yeah, thanks for explaining that utensil story for me. I forgot to write anything saying WHY we were eating with spatulas. Haha. oh, and Mom, we just forgot to bring back chopsticks. Grandmama used them at the restaurant, and I did for awhile. We also forgot to bring silverware to the new place. But luckily the spatulas were there. Of course it tasted just as good, but it was pretty funny.
3rd July 2007

Ooooo, I missed all the fun
What an incredible family this is.........So, it's my turn to shovel in the food. Looks like Kaia and I will be in FC at the end of this month and am so looking forward to the event. Love you, S
4th July 2007

I can't wait!
I am so excited to see you and Kaia (and that guy... Uncle David... you know, him too ;) just kidding... ;) Love you too! Alia

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb