Museum of Nature and Science and Red Rock Amphihteatre


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
April 18th 2013
Published: April 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

West of the museum with City Park and the Rockies in the distanceWest of the museum with City Park and the Rockies in the distanceWest of the museum with City Park and the Rockies in the distance

Myself, my brother in law Bill and my nephew's girlfriend west of the museum and in front of City Park with the Front Range of the Rockies in the distance.
April 18 – Thursday - Nice day today. It snowed yesterday but this morning at 7:30 the sky has cleared and a warm sun has come out and it is very pretty. Today the high is supposed to be in the middle thirties and tomorrow and for the rest of our stay it shows to be in the mid 50’s during the day and teens at night.

It’s quiet here. My brother in law Bill was up at 5 but is now napping on the couch. My nephew Billy is upstairs doing some work on his computer.

I am taking care of my first priority each morning which is to make my tea. The snows of yesterday have melted off on the roads so that’s good as it means I won’t need to worry about driving in the snow.

Yesterday I had pulled the rent car right up against the garage so the porch would break the wind a bit. We had a high wind last night which made it really brisk. I had thought I would have to clean the snow off the car today but the sun came out and melted it off quickly.

We
Fixing my teaFixing my teaFixing my tea

They had coffee so I fixed my tea using my immersable heater
had decided to go to the Museum of Nature and Science here in Denver. It was quite pricey but very nice. It is located at 2001 Colorado Blvd at Montview. They had an exhibit on mammoths for an extra fee. If I remember correctly it was $21 museum entry fee and for the mammoth exhibit.

The museum was massive and had some interesting displays. I especially enjoyed the wildlife displays.

Also the museum had free underground parking and the Zoo was within walking distance as well nearby. There was a nice park called City Park west of the museum which was a great place to take a group photo with the City Park and Front Range of the Rockies in the distance.

After visiting the museum we visited the Red Rock Amphitheatre. It was interesting but quite cold, with a brisk wind blowing.

On the way back from Red Rock Amphitheater we stopped at a Mexican Restaurant called Brewery Bar III. It had very good Mexican food and plenty of it.



Here is a list of useful web sites for someone visiting Denver and the Denver area.

Denver website www.denver.org
Rent carRent carRent car

I pulled my rental car up against the garage door where it would be sheltered a bit from the wind by the porch.


Denver airport - http://www.flydenver.com/ Denver airport - 8500 Peña Boulevard

SkyRide Public Bus Service www.rtd-denver.com SkyRide is RTD’s bus service to and from Denver International Airport.

Denver Public Library 720-865-1111 www.denverlibrary.org

Denver Botanic Gardens www.botanicgardens.org

Denver Zoo 303-376-4800 www.denverzoo.org

Red Rocks Amphitheater - http://www.redrocksonline.com/HoursDirectionsMaps.aspx

Denver Museum of Nature and Science - http://www.dmns.org/

Downtown Aquarium 303-561-4450 www.aquariumrestaurants.com

Commons Park www.denvergov.org/parksandrecreation/

Forney Transportation Museum 303-297-1113 www.forneymuseum.org

Outdoors Geek - 303-699-6944 www.outdoorsgeek.com – outdoor equipment rentals

REI SPORTING GOODS - 303-756-3100 www.rei.com

Coors Brewery toll-free 866-812-2337 www.millercoors.com

Buffalo Bill Museum & Grave 303- 526-0744 987 ½ Lookout Mountain Rd

Rocky Mountain National Park - http://www.nps.gov/romo/index.htm

Mt Evans scenic byway http://www.denver.org/what-to-do/colorado-day-trips/mount-evans

Mt Evans 303-567-3000 www.mountevans.com

cheap and free - http://www.milehighonthecheap.com/

Breckenridge information - http://www.gobreck.com/events/calendar-of-events

Leadville fish hatchery - http://www.visitleadvilleco.com/fish_hatchery

There is free wifi on 16th street mall.

From the airport in order to avoid the tolls take Pena Blvd to I-70 and go from there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

carpet in front of the doorcarpet in front of the door
carpet in front of the door

A long carpet in front of the door was a good idea to keep from tracking in snow
group in front of City Parkgroup in front of City Park
group in front of City Park

My nephew, his father, and my nephew's girlfriend.
City ParkCity Park
City Park

After touring the museum we drove around city Park a bit.
My nephewMy nephew
My nephew

My nephew told us the Mexican food here was great and plenty of it and he was right.


Tot: 0.527s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 43; dbt: 0.2143s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb