We've made it to Denver


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
September 5th 2008
Published: September 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well the drunk guy just left our hotel room. Dorothy let him in, NOT me. How can that be you ask?

Let's begin with how difficult it was to find a room near downtown Denver during the Cedia convention. Not easy! I took probably the last room available at the Ramada Inn. The train goes downtown the person in reservations told me and then you can catch a cab to the hotel.

After we landed in a thunderstorm (I was okay, thanks for asking.), we started looking for the Information Booth so we could figure out the quickest way into town. I asked the nice gentleman with the orange vest on, who was standing behind the information desk, how two people could get into town. "Can we take the light rail", I ask. (This is where all of you who have been to Denver start shaking your heads, saying "but the train doesn't go out to the airport Sarah". Well I KNOW THAT NOW!) Oh no, he said that we could take the bus to the train station but that's not the best way downtown, just take a shuttle.

Okay, we decide to take the "Super Shuttle". Yes, it must go Super Fast, right? Oh no. It only took six stops, a trip through downtown, then a stop out in residential Denver and an hour and 25 minutes later for us to get to the Ramada back near downtown. (Almost the amount of time that it took for us to fly here. Dorothy says he needs to revamp his system.) Well, we're here. Thank goodness because did you smell the B.O. on that driver. With each stop it got worse. Of course Dorothy says what B.O.? "How did I miss that?" Indeed, how DID she miss that.

Anyway, we checked in and all they had for rooms was two double beds in a smoking room, nope we didn't want that. Oh for all of the inconveniece, the clerk says, she can give us a Suite. Sweet! We'll take it. It's up on the second floor. So, up we go. It's huge and seems nice at first glance. "Dorothy look at our huge balcony out the sliding glass doors", I say. Oh, and look at the drunk guy looking at the skyline of downtown Denver on our balcony.

Nope, that's a SHARED balcony. Sarah back away from the windows, he can see you. Yep, he saw me and started talking to me through the glass. "I'm your neighbor, I'm just over there," he says slurring with maybe a lisp. Great, I'll double bolt my doors tonight.

As I am going into the bedroom (the Suite has two rooms) Dorothy is yelling at the curtain. She broke something. Nice... So, the drunk guy proceeds to walk past that sliding glass door asking if she needs any help. What does Minnesota nice Dorothy do? She lets the drunk in. Okay, she didn't really know he was drunk at the time, she just thought he was being nice. I'm thinking no, no, no, Dororthy don't let HIM in!

She did...

footnote... Dorothy says she really didn't know he was drunk until he walked in and wasn't functioning too well. Right.

So, the drunk guy (mind you he's no taller than I, so he really was no more help than I could be) and Dorothy are wrestling with the broken curtain. Finally I say "Okay, that's it, time to go". He is clearly offended at this point. As a last farewell gesture he grabs Dorothy's hand and (yep, you guessed it), he KISSED it! He is still standing in the doorway and I'm telling him that I'm closing the door now and he said to me "you will notice I didn't flirt with you". Oh, I'm broken hearted!

Dorothy go wash your hand now, please!

She did and I am still laughing. It's time to go to bed because it is 11:49 p.m. here and we have a 6:00 a.m. wake up call. We'll check in with you after the train trip!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb