Chapter 1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
June 15th 2007
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Starting point

Where I was born and raised, and will surely miss soon enough.

Dreaming locationDreaming locationDreaming location

Many a times I have sat here and dreamed about going overseas.
Starting point
Nathan D. Bryant
Hello family, friends, collogues and others who are interested in my travels. I thought I would make this first entry to provide some background info. For the past 4 years I have taught social studies in Denver Colorado, or since I have graduated college. Much before this time though, I have had a dream of traveling and seeing the world. However, I did not want to simply travel to a place, see the usual tourist spots, then go back home. What I have wanted was a chance to be involved with the culture, come to understand how different parts of the world work and be able to really enjoy what the world has to offer.

Very recently, I have just accepted an offer to teach history overseas, in Dubai UAE. Some people have asked how I felt about going to the Middle East. In reply, I believe that there are dangers in every part of the world. More to the point though, how will we ever improve relations with other parts of the world if we avoid these places? Don't get me wrong though, it is important to be cautious and respectful where ever you go. Along with this,
Me and great teachersMe and great teachersMe and great teachers

Here are some of the great teachers I had a chance to work with at Jefferson High.
Dubai is the world's fastest growing city, and what kind of a history teacher would I be if I did not witness history in the making?

The purpose of this journal will be to share my experiences, good times and lessons during my travels. While I will teach in Dubai for the next two years, I am not sure where I will go after this. While in Dubai, I plan on seeing many more places close by. While in Dubai, I will also have the chance to travel during breaks and see other new places, meet new people and of course, learn new things. Of course, no one will bea ble to replace all of the great friends and family I have at home!

Thank you everyone for your support in getting here! Please feel free to share your thoughts, questions or requests for stuff (I'll do what I can). I'm looking forward to hearing from everyone. Enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Best of friendsBest of friends
Best of friends

Me with good old Derrek and Barry, may the good times continue.
Just for funJust for fun
Just for fun

My family, back in 1983. I'm the youngest son of the world's best mother!
Very cute niecesVery cute nieces
Very cute nieces

Here is Madison and Aiyonne, being cute as always, and getting ready to fight!
Teacher and training partnersTeacher and training partners
Teacher and training partners

This group of guys who beats me up I will miss significantly.
More great peopleMore great people
More great people

Bujanda, a lot of great students and myself at a robotics competition.


22nd November 2010

B3$T T3@cH3R
greatest teacher iv had in the Middle East...thnx for the inspiraction Mr.Bryant and my best memory of high school was in your US History class with the three other nutties lol hehe tc and godbless...
5th April 2011

Yo Maggie!
Ha, our class did have lots of fun times when it came to recreating the history. It was a pleasure to walk through American history with all of you guys, and if I'm not mistaken, I'll look forward to hearing about your own class shortly.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb