Happy Mother's Day!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Denver
May 14th 2007
Published: May 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My SpaceMy SpaceMy Space

This is where I bring my cup of coffee and start each day...
Yesterday was very nice and relaxing - a perfect way to spend Mother's Day! Gary gave me lots and lots of flowers - he even planted some in the front yard - and my kids gave me a t-shirt from Hooters. Fabulous! 😊

My dad came up from Palmer Lake on Saturday to take the kids to the flea market. I don't get the whole concept of flea markets, but for whatever reason, my kids love to go. Afterwards, they talked my dad into going to Hooters for lunch. While they were there, a woman apparently flew into the parking lot, threw open her car door, and began yelling at her ex-husband (who was sitting on the patio) for drinking away his child support; a nice touch, really, to an already disturbing scenario. I love my dad - but his judgments are cloudy at best... 😊

When they got back from their adventures, my dad showed me the naked torso of a female mannequin he bought at the flea market. He's an artist, so I guess he can get away with those kinds of eccentricities. I just hope he didn't get pulled over on his way back down to Palmer Lake. Oh, speaking of being an artist, he painted a lovely picture of Hemingway for me - for inspiration as I plan this trip. It’s awesome!

I haven't been practicing my French like I should. Although it isn't really 'my' French since I know basically nothing of the language. My tongue gets all twisted up in my mouth and it sounds like I've stuffed it full of cotton balls. It's a beautiful language - but I can tell it's going to kick my ass.

Well, it’s Monday morning and surely the beginning of another busy week at work. Gotta love the grind!

Cheers!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Hemingway DeskThe Hemingway Desk
The Hemingway Desk

My second favorite place to write - flanked by my dad's artwork.
HemingwayHemingway
Hemingway

A Mother's Day gift from my dad
IvyIvy
Ivy

Checking things out from the Cheetah Chair
The KiddosThe Kiddos
The Kiddos

Lunch at the world-famous Red Robin


15th May 2007

Flea Market
Flea market comes from the French marché aux puces, a name originally given to a market in Paris. The fleas were thought to be in the goods, because they were of the kind to attract vermin. The earliest English use we have found dates from 1922. Uh, I just cut and pasted that from a website. I don't actually know this stuff.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb