I know what I did last summer (finally)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Cortez
April 13th 2013
Published: June 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

June 28, 2012. You know those signs in the Parks that read “Authorized Personnel Only”? Well, I got permission to travel down two of those roads at a certain Park (whose name I won’t mention). One road was to the “Maintenance Area” and the other went to the “Boneyard”. The Boneyard is where the old equipment and new building materials are stored. My day started at the Maintenance Yard (actually it started several hours earlier when I woke up and ….). I don’t think we really want to go there. TMI. Anyway, the first thing that I noticed at the Maintenance Area was the two contradictory signs I blogged about back in May of 2009. Now I know about the life cycle of signs: Made in the maintenance area, put into use, back to the maintenance area, and finally to the boneyard.

Anyway, I was invited to the sign making shop. I walked around looking at the various signs and sign making tools. I stopped at an area where glass etching used in image transfers were kept. Two employees were nearby. One commented to the other “Look, he is even interested in the etchings.” A vision came to mind of two naturalists viewing a great ape:

“Look, the big one is being groomed by a female. She’s eating the parasites. They are so much larger in real life.” The Boneyard was interesting, but somewhat anticlimactic after having two government employees get so close to me in the wild. We will be departing this Friday, June 21, 2013 for S.W. Colorado. More to come?


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



19th June 2013

Looking forward
Can't wait for this year's adventures Holiday! Glad you will be back on the road.
20th June 2013

Now I know what they do with old signs - I always wondered... Glad you are enjoying your vacation, Holiday Road. I'm looking forward to the next post.
23rd June 2013

Freebie
I sure hope you talked those people into giving you a hands-on tutorial in sign making, and then you keeping the sign that they just helped you make. The only tough part would be deciding what would go on the sign. Maybe it could say, "Ignore this sign," and you could post it in front of your house.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb