Day 10 - Grand Canyon to Cortez


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Cortez
July 27th 2009
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hungover! Bad too =( Serves me right =P Went and had brekkie but couldn't eat much.
Quickly packed and got on the bus... I realised I left my cardigan in our room which I'm actually pretty upset about. It was the Intimo one...
Slept on the bus. We had an early lunch stop, in Kayenta, Macca's of course =P Again didn't eat much, just had a coke, and a couple chips.
Back on the bus, then did a tour of Monument Valley. By the time we arrived there i felt fine... The we got onto this little buses and went down the bumpiest road ever. It was bumpier than rollercoasters. So then started feeling really sick. It was good seeing all the different shapes in the rocks... However, really sick of rocks by this point.
Got back on the bus for a little bit then had a surprise stop at the spot where Forest Gump stops running in the movie of the same name.
Back on the bus again and we actually watched Forest Gump. Slept through the middle. I've never been able to watch that movie all the way through. I always miss the start or the end or the middle as was the case this time.
The road got a little bumpy at one point and our bus driver Gerry was sittng there going, “Weeeeeeeeeeeeeee!” Quite amusing.
Throughout this bus ride we passed through three states. We started in Arizona, drove through Utah for all of 10 minutes, and arrived and stayed in Colorado.
Arrived in Cortez, we were there for such a short time I couldn't even tell you what the hotel was called. We had free wireless there though so I went a little crazy uploading a whole heap of blogs!
For dinner with Contiki, we went to a little Mexican restaurant next door to the hotel. I had a chicken taco salad, as did Michelle, but neither of us were all that impressed.
LV, Mich and I shared a load of washing, then headed up to Carl and Scott's room where Michelle found out the Aussie news and music news, and we watched the end of Sister Act. Headed back to our room singing, “I will follow him, follow him wherever heeeee may goooooooooooooooo!”
Had a good nights sleep!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb