Day 5: Denver


Advertisement
Published: January 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was New Year's Eve! It was actually a nice day, not much of a party at all but still fun.

We headed off for Garden of the Gods park today, which is right near Colorado Springs, around 1 hour from Denver. It was spectacular, there was some amazing scenery and completely different from what I had seen so far. The rock formations were amazing and to top it off, Pike's Peak was in the background. Unfortunately e couldnt do any hikes as the wind was just so overowering we could barely walk straight.

Once we arrived back home, we met up with Anna's sister Laura and went out for a nice Mexican dinner. Anna's dad had recommended I try a couple of dishes, so I did. One was a chili based dish and one was a tamale. Both were really good, but a little spicier than what I am used to. To accompany this, I ordered a 28oz margarita. I'm sure there wasnt much alcohol in it though, because I was totally sober after it.

After dinner Laura drove us around downtown Denver to show me some of the sights, including the capitol building. Downtown Denver isnt as big as I had expected, but there were some nice buildings and some really nice parks.

For our New Year's Eve celebration, the three of us (Anna, Laura and myself) plus one of Anna's friends Bethany just sat around and watched a movie and had a couple of drinks. Funny thing happened though; Laura and I set out to find a RedBox (it's like a vending machine for DVD's) around 9pm. There was one close by apparently, but when we found it, it was inside a Maccas...that was closed. Laura tried using her phone to get directions back, but it led us through an abbandoned (and slightly dodgy) carpark. In the end we just kind of winged it and made it back safe and sound, but not after seeing some fireworks! That was the lucky part of the walk.

Tomorrow is the day I've been looking forward to so much; Kansas City Chiefs @ Denver Broncos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Pike's PeakPike's Peak
Pike's Peak

It's the one with the snow on it


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb