Day 17 - August 16th - Pueblo, CO - Clifton, CO


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Clifton
August 16th 2012
Published: August 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was a great day! We left Pueblo, Colorado and headed west towards Montrose. We decided to take this drive to see the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park. I am glad we did. I had heard this was a must see sight. On our way we noticed signs for the Royal Gorge. Papa had been there in the 1950's and said it was spectacular. We decided to pull down there and check it out...I mean all the signs were pointing us in the direction and how wrong could they be right....well once again, those people are smokin' crack! They wanted $26 per person to walk out on the bridge over the gorge. I think not! I found a small trail that led down to a spot you could view it and took a few pictures. We were quickly on the road again. The drive was beautiful and the canyons and valleys we drove through were some of the best we have seen. There were several small towns we drove through and we all decided we loved Gunnison. It was a quaint college town. Our next stop was Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park. As we were driving up to it, I found the most beautiful house..it was my dream house! So....as we are driving up into the park, it is not looking like much and then...BAM! there it is. It was spectacular. I mean, it wasn't the Grand Canyon by any means, but it was beautiful. I wanted to drive down into the canyon but was informed that it was a 16% grade and very twisty. We decided that would be a good reason to come back. We made it to our hotel and our now resting by the pool in 99 degree weather. Ahhhhh....I am in heaven. Tomorrow we are headed for Utah and Arches National Park. This was the park that I had planned to visit two years ago and we decided it against it. I am soooo excited to see it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb