You have taught us well Father.


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I had the privilege of spending the last 4 weeks of my father’s life with him. My father led a very interesting life full of passion and experience. He was one of the most successful people I ever knew. He had almost no interest in amassing money, though he had as much money as he needed to live life according to his own design.

My father was a Jesuit trained scholar. The smartest people I ever knew said he was smartest man they ever knew. In his entire education including his PHD and MD, he received all As and one B.

Success for him was running 30 or so marathons at the outer edge of his capability, skiing down a double diamond at the edge of control, cooking a bowl of chili so hot your eyes would water, charming the skirt off of a beautiful woman, taking thousands from a craps dealer in Tahoe, spending time with family and friends, and saving lives at his rural health clinic whether or not his patients could afford to pay.

One of the most significant things he ever did for me was teaching me how to be responsible for myself. When I was about 10 years old, I went to my father and asked for a motorcycle. All my friends were riding dirt bikes their parents had purchased. I asked my father to buy me a dirt bike and he thought about it for about 2 weeks and then said, “If you want a dirt bike, get a paper route, and buy it for yourself.” I was so angry at him. My father made more money than all my friend’s fathers. I was so angry at him that I never asked for help again. I became a self-starter. By my senior year in high school, I was a used automobile dealer with 20 of my own cars. By having the courage to say no to me, he has served me my entire life.

My father lived his life the way he wanted and was admired for having the courage to do so. He died peacefully in the arms of those people he loved most, including his wife, his children, his grandchildren, and his siblings. During his final few days, we all sat around him and told each other the same old stories we have told a million times before, and we told some new ones from recent years. There was as much laughing, singing, and dancing, as there was crying.

Go silently into the night dear old friend. You have taught us well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 72, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



5th May 2013

What a Tribute!
Words don't express the depth of my gratitude to you for communicating the essence that was Dave/Dad. I simply say thank and I love you.
5th May 2013

Your Dad
Dan, We were not aware that your dad had passed. We are sorry for your loss, but glad that you have so many happy memories. John and Linda
8th May 2013

I'm an old "Visitation" friend from the great block of Carpenter. I am your Aunt Sue's best friend. I grew up in the Kerwin house and always felt like part of the family. I baby sat for you kids one summer day so your Mom and Dad could go golfing while you were visiting Chicago. Your Dad was one of the funniest guys I ever knew. Nothing but laughter and fun. I am so glad is at peace and I am sure he is the life of the party where ever he is. Beautiful tribute. You are all in my thoughts and prayers.
8th May 2013

Wonderful tribute to your father Dan, he would be so proud!
Enjoyed reading the tribute to your father, obviously well loved by you, thanks for sharing, so sorry for your loss! Your Chicago cousin Jean Knox
10th May 2013
Father and me

Thank you for sharing this...
He has such a wonderful face!! I wish I could have met him.
10th May 2013

What an incredible man!
Thank you so much for sharing this with us Dan. You are amazing to be handling it all so well. It seems his death was a really good one, reminding me of his life, which he lived to the fullest. Way fuller than most!! I hope that I will be so lucky some day, particularly for those who love me to be able to come to terms with my passing, with total peace. I am curious to know what comes after this. Based on the radical difference between life in the womb, the perceived death of that, and life after it, I have a feeling we are in for another even bigger ride coming up next :)
27th May 2013

Foxy Doc
I am so happy that I was able to share and be a part of Dr. Dave Kerwin's Life. He was genuinely, honestly, a good man... which in turn made him to be a great man. He loved in a consent way, never mad, never sad, his favorite words where, "Yes Dear"... and that's probably why he was such a ladies man :) I miss Dave everyday... Its still a little unbelievable, it all happened so fast... He touched many lives, left behind a beautiful family, and I know if it was up to Dave he wouldn't go anywhere...He loved everybody, especially his family. He led and had a very interesting life... It makes me sad my favorite doctors gone, my roommate, my constant support... Dave has been described as marching to his own drum, and that he definitely did!! If there is anything I have learned the most from Dave its to beat that drum, find your own beat, and do it because you want to, with confidence... There is still so much I would love to tell him and see him smile and laugh about... Its just a reminder of how short life is and to find your beat and peace quickly so you can enjoy it that much longer. Thank you Dave!!! Thank you for everything !!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb