Rich, Famous and Ruzhen.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
January 13th 2013
Published: January 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

"I hopped off the plane at L.A.X, with a dream and my cardigan, welcome to the land of fame excess (whoa), am I gonna fit in? Jumped in the cab here I am for the first time look to my right and I see the Hollywood sign, this is all so crazy, everybody seems so famous..."

Ok, before I go on, no I don't hear my song on the radio and I'm not Miley Cyrus (nor would I want to be). But something about those opening lines ring true - Billy's daughter was onto something cause when I saw the Hollywood sign from the plane, it put things in perspective - I'm in the most photographed, publicised and excessive city on earth - Los Angeles.

If NYC is the city that never sleeps, then LA is it's cousin who has done medical marijuana, gone to a rave and passes out till midday.

On our second January 1st - no you read that right - I had two New Years Days, me and another girl named Rachel, who goes to uni with me, stepped off the plane at LAX, weary but eager.

Our hostel was in Santa Monica, arguably the nicest place in LA. Dog walkers, beach performers, preacher men and a particular man who controls the pidegons - Santa Monica was colourful - literary and figuratively. Every apartment building was a pastel colour, beautiful flowers (much like their owners) were fake and shown off. Let's just say, it's a nice place to have a camera.

Hollywood is a whole other kind of colourful. Walking there (catch a bus, don't be a fool like me, it's only US$1.50) I spotted a white, circular structure. Being a girl who has watched Ironman about oh... say a gazillion times, I could spot Starks house from a mile ouBut was it though? The thrilling conclusion later!

The obvious thing to do in Hollywood is the Walk of Fame. We spent so long looking for it, we didn't realise we were stepping on it. Before we even had the chance to look at three stars, an enthusiastic gentleman of Lebanese decent, swooped on us, saw my camera, took us for tourists and gave us a discount on a lame Hollywood tour of celeb homes. I say lame because they are, bit its interesting to see did they are being legit or not. Some stuff the very talkative bus driver stated was true e.g. the Osbournes house as featured in their reality show, Michael Jackson's house, but some.. I call bullshit!

They say LA, and in particular Hollywood is where people come to make it BIG. And for a lot of people on the Walk of Fame, that dream is still really, reeeeeaaallly far away. I speak, of course, of the rappers, superheroes, cartoon characters and one fiery aggressive comedian who harass tourists on the walk. My friend had a pleasant one counter with one and said I had to find him.



Well I didn't. Sorry Meg.



But I did find a guy by the name of Ruzhen... Or Ruzzen... Or whatever, it's pronounced "Rushing". Anyway the conversation went like this:



"Where you from gurrl?"

"Australia"

"Oh hold up! I played Big Day Out! Your boy is getting big Down Under" (euphemism? I don't know)

"Yeah that's our biggest musical festival"

"Yeah yeah you Aussies are so laid back and cool ya feel?"

"Oh thanks."

"Well my name is Rushen (spelling is somewhat more... obsecure than this) and I have an album called "Swagg Nation" (no typos here people) which is up on ITunes, but you can have a signed copy. Just name your price"

Anyway I gave Rushen four bucks for a cd. He was a nice guy, don't get me wrong, but the majority will harass you till you want to scream.

LA is a big town, so there's plenty to write about. Right now though I have class on the other side of America, but we will get there. Y'all have a pleasant day!

- Kelsey

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb