Day Three: Hollywood.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
September 15th 2012
Published: September 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We leave the downtown hotel early morning, sweltering heat again, about 36 degrees my phone read at one stage. We spent the day gathering our bearings, catching the subway and metro bus system. There were a lot of negative reviews on the LA public transport, but I found it really easy to use and quite cheap. For $5 you can purchase a day-­‐tripper, which allows you to access the subway or busses for the full day. Otherwise you’re looking at $1.50 for 4 hours of the same access. Busses are regular, every 5 to 10 minutes in most areas, and the trains are fairly much the same.

We catch the train from Downtown Union Station to Wilshire/Western. From this station it’s about a 10-­‐minute walk to Korea Town where our packers is.
We drop our bags off at lunchtime and hop on the next bus to Hollywood. This place is massive. I follow the walk of fame straight away, names I know and some I don’t. But mostly names I haven’t seen before. I tried to blend in as best as possible since we don’t have our backpacks, but I guess my pale skin and ?lowing sweat made me
stand out enough to get approached on every corner by someone selling a celebrity site seeing tour. I eventually give in and agree to do one of the tours. They took us out in a bus with an open roof where we went through Beverly Hills's and Rodeo Drive. Got some decent shots, however they didn’t take us to the sign. You cam see the sign from a lot of places in LA but I’m still waiting for a better angle before I snap a shot of it.

After the full day of Hollywood we make it back to the backpackers for a BBQ where we met all the other backpackers, ate burgers, drank beer ($12 for a 12-­‐ pack of corona, and I don’t even get asked for ID) and met the stray cat that hangs around. I’ve named him Bootsy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement




Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb