Thunderhill Raceway


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Willows
October 13th 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I’m up at 4:30 and we’re leaving at 5:15. The morning came fast, but we spent the evening packing so we’re ready to go. We started to load the dirt bike but the carburetor started leaking like a sieve. It’s always something but at least it’s only the pit bike. Today is a trial track day for Racer #994, a.k.a. Foot, John Hughes who’s also my husband. He’s been off track most of the season for a variety of reasons so there’s some trepidation as to what the day will bring.


Traffic is light this time of the morning. My phone rings and it’s John calling me from his truck, he’s a bit further ahead of me. “Check out the moon once you come over the next crest!” Ahh, there is only a slice of light on the bottom of the moon, but also a faint outline around the entire thing, giving it extra magic. It's a pretty morning sky for our drive up.


As soon as we pull into the pits, a truck and trailer zooms seemingly out of nowhere and circles us. I realize it’s our friend Rob Collins! John and Rob pull up next to each other, chat briefly and then . . . I‘m not sure. They are kind of driving in circles, but not really, lots of stopping and starting, backing and do-overs. I think it’s some kind of weird “spot selecting” technique so I just put it in park and wait until the dance is over. Eventually they both park and I pull in next to John.


It’s great to see Rob! In season he is Pit Boss for Left Foot Racing. He brings an element of calm to Foot that no one else can. Not to mention his mad machinist and mechanical skills. It’s always a pleasure.


It’s cold this morning but I came prepared with layers. When the boys are at the riders meeting, I recline in the front seat of my car under a blanket and fall into a heavy doze. I’m half asleep and not sure where I am. I hear John’s voice and I think he’s coming into the bedroom to wake me up, then I realize I’m at the track napping in my car.


Keigwins is the track host today and they have groups divided into B-, B+ and A. Rob and John will be in the “A” group. It heats up fast and goes from being cold to t-shirt weather in the span of 10 minutes. Welcome to Willows! “A” group is called and the boys start suiting up. #994 fires up and I’m given the signal to take off the tire warmers. Stands are away and he’s off! Have fun!


Where to view from? Thunderhill isn’t known for spectator viewing choices. Rob brought his XR and gave me permission to have my way with it but there aren’t a lot of options here. Plus there are rules. And I’m rocking a Left Roof Racing shirt so, you know. I start off by hanging out on the k-wall near the pits to watch. Foot goes by, he looks good, smooth as always but slow. That’s okay, it’s warm up time.


The following sessions are going “okay” for Foot until he decides to quit following and start leading. Then his pace picks up to a familiar 1:58 and things start to fall into place. He is all smiles after the session as that ole familiar feeling starts returning.


I’ve shot from the bridge and birds nest, and now I want to be up in the bleachers behind Turn 1. I cruise the XR down through the pits checking everyone out along the way. There’s a lot of folks out today and I’m enjoying the people watching.


Approaching the end of the pits and the gap in the fence leading to my desired viewpoint is a sign. It has words on it like “NO” and “vehicles” strung together in phrases I’m just not connecting with. So I ride the XR over to a track worker and kill the motor. I say hi and ask him if I can go up to the bleachers to take some pictures. He sees the camera slung around my neck, hesitates and says “Well, I guess it’s alright.” Then I ask, “Can I ride the bike up there or should I park it and walk?” The moment of truth. He really strings it out, glancing over to that sign, the one with all those words on it. “Sure" he says, "just stay off the top of the hill and down by the bleachers.” All right!!


I’m into the dirt, through the fence and I get on the gas, just
Turn 1Turn 1Turn 1

Data logger registered 92mph at the apex, 145 on the straight just preceding
a little! It’s hard to be on the bike and not feed the throttle. It's a pretty good vantage point from here but I’m having a hard time seeing my target. The sun is in my eyes, and there’s another bike, another pretty smooth rider with an expensive sounding bike, that has similar colors to Foot. I get my shots and a little video and head back to the pits.


It’s lunch and someone mentions a person riding their bicycle around the track. My ears perk up. Is that allowed? Foot checks with the instructors and I’m given the green light! I take my Giant and pedal around the circuit. It was interesting to view those privileged parts of the track not seen by spectators. As I pedal up the hill I think I’d like to shoot from turn 9 some time. . . anyway. Fun!


After lunch a bike pulls up next to my car. Foot hops out of his chair “Is that Charley?” Why yes it is! Our friend Charley rode his motorcycle down to check out #994. Charley brings with him an energy that makes the sun shine just a little brighter. Foot is elated and they catch up on how the day has gone so far and how the bike is performing. Then as always happens, the conversation turns to tire talk and my eyes start to cross.


“A” group is up and Foot is back on the track Charley and I view from the k-wall on the straights. He looks real, real good out there. A graceful rider no doubt. “You could put it to music” Charley says, and he’s right. Foot pulls in early. For the past 2 sessions he’s had big slides on the right side and the rear tire looks like it went through a meat grinder in sections. Having had a great first day back, he decides to call it a wrap.


We're packing up and a guy walks over and asks if I’m the person who rode a bicycle around the track at lunch. His name was Luke and he's a Keigwin’s instructor. We chat about the day and I keep staring at his necklace. All I can think of is this guy could rock the boar’s tooth centerpiece I bought in Kauai. . . but I digress. I can tell Big Luke will probably be knowledgeable about all things involving motors so I tell him of my interest in drifting. The conversation turns and, yes, he did have some insight and tips for me involving McDonald’s trays and an e-brake!


I have to say I love the motorcycle community. 99.9% of the folks I’ve had the pleasure of meeting have been nice and generous and enjoyable company. Keigwins puts on a well organized event as well. It was a great day at the track and good times were had all around.


I’m anxious to get home and cleaned up. I say goodbye to the boys and beat a path out of there. I want to practice my starts on the way out of the track, but I refrain. I am wearing a Left Foot Racing t-shirt after all. . . .



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



15th October 2012

Love it!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb