Quit Your Day Job! Last day at ours...


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have my pinata!I have my pinata!I have my pinata!

Going away party at work
Our last day of work came and went in a whirl-wind of joy, tears, drinking and karaoke! The last few days of work are very strange. At the start of the week it feels like there is plenty of time to gather your things into one box and be done with it...so of course it made sense to me to start packing up my office space on Thursday. Taking down years of memories and nick-nacks was easier than I expected. For some reason I thought I would cry through the whole thing, but it just felt like it was time to pack the bags and go with all the great things that were my old job. Still, all through Friday, I would get emails asking me to do this and that and it felt strange saying that it was my last day and couldn't do that last set of corrections on that cover. I just ran out of time.

We had a great group of about 12 people take us to our local favorite burger spot (Burgermiester) and then in the later afternoon, we were surprised by a huge going away party in one of the company's largest meeting rooms.
Pinata BattlePinata BattlePinata Battle

See why I will miss my old job a bit?!
There were two pinatas, mexican flags everywhere, food, and did I mention beer? Ronnie made a wonderful going away speech that was tough to follow. I thought everything was easy as far as emotions were going, but as I looked out at all the faces waiting to hear what I had to say, all I could get out through all the tears was that I loved each and every person at Viz and thanked them all for everything. Then, since we didn't have any sticks, we just smashed the pinatas against the wall until a fountain of candy poured around the whole room. We then headed to the nearby bar (Sweetie's) for many drinks, hugs and laughs. There was one moment that I was so happy that the feeling just forced me to dance around in joy. (I am sure the Vodka Soda helped) Hours later, we headed to a friend's house for pizza. Finally around 12:30am, we walked to Do Re Mi in Japantown for some midnight karaoke. Our friend Dr. Brown really outdid himself with his "Under the Sea" and "Save Me" from Smallville. We finally made it home around 3:00 that night and stumbled into bed.

The following morning we had to get up fairly early to catch a ride with my Mom and Mitch to visit my grandmother in Rough and Ready, CA....yes that is really the name of the town. The weekend was awesome fun and we got home Monday night.

Today was our first REAL day of serious packing and it is pretty scary. I know we will make our Saturday moving truck deadline, but I thought we got rid of a ton of stuff at our garage sale...nope! Feels like we are doing it all over again.

BUT, this not going to work feels really strange. I keep thinking about things I may have not finished, or who I should email etc...but it doesn't matter anymore. Our adventure has begun!

OH Yeah-I heard the link is broken to the casita tour so try this:

http://ts.rtvpix.com/tour.display.php?utl=RS-0219-WRXHAK-01

We are in the rooms labeled "guest."


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Pancho the CatcusPancho the Catcus
Pancho the Catcus

He traveled with us through the night.
My Good-Bye PictureMy Good-Bye Picture
My Good-Bye Picture

I attached this pic from Halloween as my going away photo to my co-workers.


18th June 2008

Already Missed!
You're already missed at work and it's only been a few days! I wish I had the energy that night to make it to the karaoke...

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.2082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb