San Deigo Zoo


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
October 27th 2013
Published: February 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

One of my first stops in SoCal was the San Diego Zoo . I love walking the zoos. I can spend my hours there, minus the African Exhibits because of my trip to Africa. San Diego Zoo also has a Safari park, which is probably more along the lines of the feeling of Africa but because, as I said, I've been to Africa, I opted not to go to the safari part. Parking was free. Admission to the zoo was $46 for 12 and older. Not that bad considering parking was free.

The first exhibits I went to was the Orangutan. I did not know that they had a baby on Friday. But the mom was out with the baby already on Sunday for viewing. They looked comfortable. Momma was very protective but sharing. Another exhibit that I enjoyed was the big bird one. I just so happened to be there for the feeding. Sad but at the same time it is a natural thing. I also did not realize that San Diego Zoo is home to one of the largest Koala exhibits outside of Australia.

One thing that I did not care for was that the enclosures was small. I would expect that a larger zoo could have larger enclosures. I understand the need for visitors to see them but in my opinion they were not big enough. I am okay with waiting around an exhibit to see an animal. Goodness knows that I have done this for a great photo opp.

The zoo itself was huge, if you have a difficult time walking it is not always good but they do have multiple buses to bring you to different stops. It was a warm day but water fountains and sprinklers were available for cool downs. Overall it is a nice zoo but again, like Dallas, I just wish the enclosures were bigger, especially for the big cats and the birds.

I did not eat at the zoo. I let my stomach eat itself while I was there but after I left the zoo headed over to Fred's in downtown San Diego (I am assuming it's downtown). I was told that they had good Mexican food. Honestly, I liked it but it's not something I would consider good. I think it was like the run of the mill Mexican restaurant. Parking was okay because it was a Sunday.
orangutanorangutanorangutan

The baby was 2 days out, already out for public viewing. So adorable.
The restaurant was slow in business but I am pretty sure it is probably hopping during the week and/or evenings on the weekend. If you're in the area great, if you go somewhere else-you're probably not missing much.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Koala that is upKoala that is up
Koala that is up

So many Koalas that one was actually awake. Surprising considering they spend the majority of the time sleeping.


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb