My Month in Italy


Advertisement
Published: May 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends. I'm heading off on a (life) long awaited trip to Italy this next week. On past trips I've regretted not keeping up with a journal, and so this time I'm giving this electronic platform a try. Please feel free to check it out over the course of the next month; Il Mio Mese in Italia!

After dreaming of visiting my Grandfather (Frank Luporini)'s homeland all of my life, I'm finally bound to set my feet on Italian soil this spring. Thanks to family living in the area, a surplus of frequent flyer miles and paid leave at work, I'm spending a full month in Italy. I chose this duration as a balance between my wanting to feel like I'm "living" there, and not pissing off my boss at work! I'm heading to Frank's home town of San Ginese di Compoti, which I picture as a mellow village near the outskirts of Lucca in Tuscany. From this "home base", I will make as many unscheduled trips around the country. as I can muster. In addition to all of the sights, visiting the ancestral home of nearly half my bloodline, and taking in all of the wonderful sights and history, I am really looking forward to finally using my albeit brief education in Italian, and working towards fluency during my stay. I studied it for a year at SFSU in the mid-1990's, and have dove into Rosetta Stone software over the course of the past few months.

Please consider this YOUR OPPORTUNITY to suggest specific locations for me to visit during My Month in Italy!

Ciao...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb