Prepping for my Italian Vacation


Advertisement
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Flight to Italy

Thanks to limited choices available through my frequent flyer program, I will be flying from San Francisco, CA to Atlanta, GA to Paris, FR to Florence, IT. For $150 out of pocket, it's not all THAT bad...

Packing

This blogging platform doesn't come with much instruction, so here goes...

Today marks the end of a two weeks of shopping to add to my camera equipment coming up to my May 8 departure. I now have my new lenses, carry-on bag, memory redundancy, and portable hard drive, and I still need to find my tripod.

In addition to this, I've been working on scheduling all kinds of friends and colleagues to come by my place to care and socialize for my cat, "Lote". I'm devoting much of today to laundry, packing, and then eventually cleaning up my home.

On Monday, I will depart Sacramento via the Amtrak Capital Corridor, transfer to BART in Richmond, bound for South San Francisco, where I will spend the night at my cousin Susan's house before my 7 a.m. flight to Atlanta.

OK, now, back to work, as my time is limited:
00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

I'm going to Italy!



Advertisement



6th May 2012

Have a wonderful time!
Can't wait to get your updates...I'm sure that you'll have a splendid trip and your photographs will be spectacular as usual!
8th May 2012

Photos!
Can't wait to see all the beautiful photos when you get back. Have the best time Jim!!!!
8th May 2012

You'll love it! Eat gelato...any flavor. Drink limoncello...lots of it. It's cheap, it's luscious, and it's never better than in Italy. Eat pizza. It is NOT what you get in the states. In the states I can eat 1 or 2 pieces. In Italy I can easily eat an entire pizza. I know you're a vegetarian but come on. You must try the seafood. Fabulous. Especially squid. And remember that, as in Mexico and Spain, everything is "tomorrow." Have patience. And DO NOT let any "kind" person help you with your bags at ANY train platform. They are NOT being kind. They will demand a minimum of 10 euro once you're in your train car. Italy is rife with pickpockets of all ages. Trust no one. Keep your day pack in front of you at all times, keep NOTHING in your pockets, and beware of gypsies. They are quite real and they are everywhere....even working the crowds at the Vatican and at every tourist site in every city. While you're engrossed in a tour guide's narrative, someone is picking your pocket. We watched a young woman slowly work thru a crowd in Rome. No one ever realized that she was there.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb