Monterey


Advertisement
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Monday, April 30, 2012,



This is day one of our travel to Colorado. I am not sure what I want to include in the blog so I am just going to write a journal and periodically add it to the blog. I can add a few pictures along the way although they will have to be added later and they will be unedited (kind of like sending your children to school with out clothes). I want to record the facts about the places we visit but I also want to include my personal impressions and feeling.



After a lot of preparation we left Antioch about 10 AM. We are both excited to start on our adventure but we have a few mixed emotions about leaving the house, yard and garden for 2-3 months. It is the best time of the year in Antioch. The hills are green, the yard is bursting at the seams with new growth. The garden is planted. Muggs is taking care of things while we are away and I am gratefull but there are so many things that can go haywire especially in the garden.

Any feeling of anxiety vanished when Debi and I stopped for a picnic lunch in Monterey City Park. The ocean was vibrant with color and smells. We delayed getting to our camping spot at Plaskett Federal Campground. We unloaded the bikes and rode through Monterey and Pacific Grove. Wow it is nice to be spontaneous. This area is a little touristy but you just need to look past the people and focus on the grandeur of this beautiful bay. There was a little wind but only on the ocean side of Pacific Grove. Debi had a small mishap going over a curb and took a tumble from her new bike but only had a skinned knee (thank heavens because this is or first real outing on the bicycles).



We arrived at Plaskett about 5 PM and set up the tent trailer. We took a walk to the beach. Spectacular light on the hills and ocean but unfortunately I forgot my camera. We had a great dinner on the grill (Ribs, asparagus, beans and bread). It was great to snuggle up with Debi in our little tent trailer. It has been a great first day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb