Last Chance Road Trip Summer 2012 Planning


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Monrovia
March 15th 2012
Published: March 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ahh, where to start, how to plan, what to do . . .



Steph and Rick are both in college now and I am feeling the time slip away. We've always loved traveling, my whole family. I remember trips taken to the National Parks, the cabin, the beach, when I was young. When I was 16 my grandparents took me to England, when I was 14 we all went to Mexico. When Rick was just learning to walk, we went to Hawaii. Then Kevin came along and he and I loved the road trip. We took my mom and Steph and Rick to Alaska and Canada and had a great time. But now, well, now it's just me again, me and THREE kids. . . so I plan. This summer is the last summer we can do an extensive trip. Soon Steph and Rick will be in the same situation as Heather is, families, jobs, kids, etc, and can't take off for three months with Mom.

Stephani wants to see all of the lower 48 which, to me, is a good plan. Rick wants us to not rush. I agree, no reason to rush, but we do need to keep moving. So far I have four legs sort of tentatively planned, but then we need to figure out how to get to the MIDDLE of the country.

Leg 1-- North to Vancouver, stopping in San Simeon, Harmony, Moro Bay, SF, and Sacto in CA, hitting Crater Lake in Oregon and Seattle in WA.

Leg 2 -- Across the north and up to Calgary to see a friend, eventually going through WI up and into MI to see Jo, Sister-in-law. I'll stay with her while Steph and Rick are in training for P2P in Toronto for two weeks. Once I get them, we head east again to Quebec to see a friend.

Leg 3-- Down the east coast to NY and see Charl. We'll stay in Manhattan for a couple of days and then in Long Island with her. Then south again, skipping DC for now, to NC. Joe, Hez and the girls will meet us there and we'll do DC and Williamsburg with them. We'll take Joe back to N or SC and he'll fly home from there and we'll continue south with them to GA where her sister, Shannon, is. She and the girls will fly home from there and we finish leg 3 in Florida.

Leg 4--Across the south and then up into Colorado and Utah, through Az and then home.



Whew!



So, I am starting this blog to find out who wants us to visit, what my friends and family think are the must see sites where they live, and to generally plan the trip. Once we're ON the trip, here is where you can see our progress and pics of what's up.



More later and soon to have maps and such here!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb