Hiking in the Marin Headlands


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Marin
November 27th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

25 November 2006

After spending a longer time than expected, at thanksgiving shopping yesterday, we needed a break. Ganesh's bible (101 hikes in California) had a quick browse. We picked this hike in the Marin Headlands(an hr from home). Hwy 1 was closed for construction after Muir Beach. But we double checked that up to Muir beach, the roads were fine. This hike titled “The Head out” started right from Muir Beach. We parked the car in this huge parking lot. After checking the trail map there, Ganesh was so dejected as the trail that was going close to the Ocean was closed for construction. We thought of going the farthest we could and turn back, have some time out in the beach before heading back home.

The trail started climbing with this whole bunch of steps. Up and up and up, we went. But when we got to the top, we realized that the stairways led to heaven; Awesome ocean views, bright sunny day(couldn't have asked for anything better!)

As per the book, we had to take Pacific coast trail until Pirates cove. A little further, turn left at the Fire road and get back home. But the trail map said that the Pacific coast trail was under maintenance. To prove it, we saw an orange barricade across the trail.


So, there we were, at the top of a mountain, wondering what to do next. But, we saw some people going further down the trail. So, we decided to take a chance and go a little distance. We met a fellow hiker, who was very happy about the construction; She'd been hiking there for years and finally, they were widening the trail. But the trail to Pirates cove seemed fine. Thanking her for the news & glad for being there, we set off on our mission:Pirates Cove. We crossed a couple canyons(rather hiked around), the trail went up for a while and went downhill all the way. On one such switchbacks, I saw a something move in front of me. Something very small. Hoping to see a mountain lizard or a bug, I looked down to find a snake crawling by; terrified on seeing me.

The trail went through a section with tall grasses on either sides. We did not encounter anything else, but I would call it 'hideous'. Very soon, we were at the junction of Pacific coast trail with a way going down to the beach. It was downhill all through rocks. We scrambled all the way down to find a beautiful secluded beach. Well! My vocabulary doesn't go any further, but the place was a lot more than 'just awesome'. For a while, I even wanted to lead a Pirate's life, if I got to see such places. 😊

After stopping for some quick snacks & photographs, we started our climb up. It was a lot longer than I had imagined. We had more steps ahead until we were at the very top(junction of Pacific coast trail & the fire road), enjoying the ocean views once again. Heading back home was a lot faster now, obviously the road being a lot wider with a well paved grade. Soon enough, we were looking down on Muir Beach with a whole set of some 100 steps in between. My knees were counting every step. 😞

Once on the beach, the wind was getting colder. We were in layers until the point when I could take no more. Rain clouds up high, cold winds making you curl we got back to our car. Home was still a long way.

We were a little late for Point Bonita(lighthouse), but had time to catch a good sunset(if there was) and some night shots of Golden Gate and the SF skyline.

There was no place to hide. Cold wind was hustling from all directions. There were times I thought, I wish I was in some place warm. But, I wanted to catch the sunset, I had to face what nature thrusts on me. Clouds did cover the Sun going down, but the landscape was beautiful. We climbed up Hawk hill to get a glimpse of Golden Gate and the city view behind.

Magical! Out of the world! Dreamy! Romantic! Cooooooolllllllddddd! 😊

There we were, in the cold, in that wind, trying to take 15 seconds exposure shots! The wind was so hard that it shook our tripod; Well! Our tripod was not too strong, either!

Enough of the bridge, we crossed under the bridge to get some shots of the city at night. What shall I say? The wind was doing its job well!
My fingers were red(even inside huge ski gloves). Time to go, buddy.

The City of San Francisco & Golden Gate never seem to disappoint me.

After this huge traffic that gave us more time on the bridge, we seemed to be on our way home.
I don't know what I did, but I crashed the minute I came in.

We will definitely go back to get some night shots again, maybe with a stronger tripod.


FYI
Take 101 N out of San Francisco.
Exit hwy 1 N heading to the coast.
Once you hit the city of Muir Beach, turn left on Pacific way.
Go all the way to the end to Muir Beach.
It is a part of Marin Headlands.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

this guy offered to pose for methis guy offered to pose for me
this guy offered to pose for me

He was playing his flute inside the tunnel; beautiful echo!
Getting dark!Getting dark!
Getting dark!

View from Hawk hill
a final shot a final shot
a final shot

before we go home!


27th November 2006

Good one! OK. Added to my list of things-to-do in SFO :-)
30th November 2006

Nice blog
U got a nice blog out here..Very nice pictures too!!! I thought of creating a blog for travel in blogger.com.Got ur reference thro my friend Poornima!Then I came to know about this site.I created one account for myself now:-)...It is really nice...:-)
30th November 2006

Glad you liked it!
Though I am not an admin here, welcome to travelblog! Keep us posted abt your blog too! Is it Poornima Rajagopal that told you abt this? I hope so. regards, Meera
1st December 2006

Yes!
Yes!It is Poornima Rajagopal:-)

Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 24; qc: 130; dbt: 0.1341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb