Quiet times and warm weather


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
January 15th 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey all!

So what have I done since my last blog... readings... exercising... groceries... thrills! I did go to a bar in Pasadena with Jai and some of his friends for a birthday thing for one of them last weekend. Just a word of warning to anyone going to a bar in the USA... never drink an AMF. And Jai, never try to drink four on a completely empty stomach! But I met Gilbert and Nanette, who were lovely and looked after me... although the sweet girl did think cricket was croquet!

Classes this week have been good - a lot of preparation for them, but they're very interesting. There's not much to say. I keep discovering new bits (particularly food places) on campus, which is good. Having a incredibly enjoyable time learning so much and part of me wishes I could stay and do this work forever (a bigger part of me wants to get home and get married and then do this work forever!)

Am loving having bagels, pastrami, black beans, and kosher hotdogs! 😊 All my favourite foods! Oh and of course the ridiculously sized sodas.

The best thing about California, well LA in particular, is that it's a really beautiful day and you're sick or working or in some way unable to make the most of the weather, 99% of the time the next day will be just as lovely! This past week, most day have be 26 degrees or above - and I only brought one pair of shorts!

Just a comment on my UCLA travel mug: should I be worried that it has a sticker on the bottom that says "This product contains a chemical known to the State of California to cause cancer, birth defects or other reproductive harm." I think I will stop using it as a mug and use it as a pen holder or something!

Apparently it's "Australia Week" in LA at the moment, but I seemed to have missed it. Good news for me though, one of the supermarkets near school is selling Aussie food all month - I hope they have Vegemite and Tim Tams! Will be taking some to class on the day after Australia Day I think!

Your Hollywood Correspondent,

Sarah


Advertisement



16th January 2009

pasadena
did you see any little old ladies in pasadena
16th January 2009

pasadena
no i didn't! it was too late at night!

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb